New Verbatims

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Whatssup, Nov 29, 2008.

Nov 29, 2008

New Verbatims by Whatssup at 5:15 PM (1,674 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Whatssup
    OP

    Newcomer Whatssup Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I recently bought a couple spindles of the new packaged Verbatims (Disc ID= MCC-004-00MCC-004-00). I have always used Verbatims, but these ones had some new kind of packaging on them! I have burned a few new games with these and my WiiKey v.1 with 1.9s firmware won't read them! Weird thing is that if I use MenuPatcher or another softmod method I can get them to load (not every time though) but usually will error out! And all of my previous burns before these new Verbatims work perfectl! So should I just go buy some new discs?? And has Verbatim changed something?? Any other why this would be doing this??
     
  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    that was the verbatims a used to buy, before they were out of stock in OffDep, they are DVD+R16X, if I'm not wrong, burn them at 16X with Book Type = DVD-ROM, those are the best quality of DVD in the market right now, they are suppoused to be made in Taiwan check Da List
     
  3. Whatssup
    OP

    Newcomer Whatssup Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I've burned on these things at 2x, 4x, 20x all to no avail! I even have some games on memerox discs and they work fine, too!!
     
  4. jservs7

    Member jservs7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I'm not sure if u have tried to look into new firmware for your DVD burner, but for now, they might not be so much the discs themselves, but they just might be incompatible with your burner.

    I had an old burner that could not burn Taiyo Yuden discs (which are rated as some of the best by alot of sites), but I switched my burner and never looked back. I have burned Wii games on it using the crappiest media and they have worked fine. [​IMG]
     
  5. Whatssup
    OP

    Newcomer Whatssup Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I've used two different burners! Got a Samsung SH-S182 with newest firmware and a Pioneer DVR-115D OEM witht factory firmware both doing the same thing, and have used both in past to burn games successfully!!
     
  6. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    that sucks for you i use Memorex dvd-r media with Manufacturer ID: CMC MAG. AM3.
    these seem to hold up pretty well i have seen some test where the rate on par with verbatim dvd-r (RITEKG05) disk.
    all i can say is these verbatim aren't as good as the other manufacture id'd ones you should prolly switch media brand if that's the manufacture that the disk will now come from in your area also if you ordered them online try a different site.
    a lot of ppl will tell you that brand matters when it comes to this but it really doesn't it comes down to manufacture i have even seen ritekG05 memorex just depends on who supply's your area or online store of choice and that can change over time.
     
  7. saloalea

    Newcomer saloalea Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    MCC 004 is mighty fine +R media, go buy some Verbatim -R in the new packaging and watch your problems disappear.
     
  8. Whatssup
    OP

    Newcomer Whatssup Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I think I got the problem solved!! I actually just went and got some memerox -r and that was the isssue! Strange in the fact that I've always used +R and never had an issue until these new Verbatim +Rs...ohh well as long as it works! (P.S. just got the Memerox for testing purposes because they were on sale for 7.99 instead of the 30/35 for the Verbatims!)
     
  9. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i'd say if that works well stick with it cuz that is what i use $10.00 a 50 pack haven't had a failure yet(or used the whole spindle O.o)
    also mind telling me what the manufacture id is on those Memorex's?
     
  10. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Made in Tawain Verbatim DVD-R = Media Code ID: MCC 03RG20

    Best Verbatim disc to use (If going with DVD-R)
     
  11. Whatssup
    OP

    Newcomer Whatssup Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Manufacturer ID: CMC MAG. AM3. Same as yours!! Works great!!
     
  12. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    good to hear everything worked out for you cheers!
     
  13. willy101

    Newcomer willy101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Are your verbatim's +R that might be the problem...
     
  14. stev418

    Member stev418 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Australia
    Im using the verbatim DVD+R (MCC-004) in the 'new' purple packaging, still working perfectly for me (booktype set to dvd-rom) and I burn @ 8x
     
  15. Whatssup
    OP

    Newcomer Whatssup Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Yep +Rs were theproblem got some -Rs and they work fine! I've always used Verbatim +Rs too just decided it didn't like these new packs I bought all the other games I've burnt berfore these spindles still work. Weird but problem solved so thats what matters. Thanks for everyones help!
     

Share This Page