New NTSC Wii System update?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by happysmiley, Sep 12, 2007.

Sep 12, 2007
  1. happysmiley
    OP

    Newcomer happysmiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Wiikey and am updated to 3.0 NTSC. I just went to put in a game,

    and I got a message stating "Initiating Wii System Update."

    There was then a warning stating "any technical modification could render the Wii inoperable" or something to that extent.

    I did not accept the update and I turned the Wii off.

    This happened around 9:15 a.m. EDT, today 9/12.

    Anyone else get this? [​IMG]
     
  2. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Umm, all new Nintendo games do this. If your system is already up to date, it won't install any updates as there are none. Nintendo just puts whatever the newest update at the time is on the game for those who don't have internet connections. Also, that message about modifications was added with the 3.0 update and will always say that for any update.

    EDIT: As long as the game is the same region as the Wii, there shouldn't be any problems. I'm sure someone else would be more qualified though to give a solid statement.
     
  3. happysmiley
    OP

    Newcomer happysmiley Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it was probably just the new game I was trying out.

    I am up to date with 3.0 U so I won't worry. I searched extensively before I even did that update to make sure my Wii would be ok. And I haven't seen a game try and update like that, when my system has already been up to date.

    Thanks.
     
  4. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    I have a legit system with legit games and all my new Nintendo first party games try to update the first time I load them even though my system is up to date.
     
  5. Upperleft

    Member Upperleft Namcoholic

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    i updated mine with MP3 yesterday

    and today i had a message from nintendo
    that include a new update ??

    i didn't update to it ,, i'm afraid of a break " using a modchip " xD
     

Share This Page