Hacking New Atmosphere Update Incompatible With Pokemon Sword (SWSH)?

whiteglovian

Fedora Lord
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
223
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Arizona
XP
479
Country
United States
So, this is an odd question I know, but I'm getting an error I have only seen for people booting CFW, or people using exFat. I do not get this error when booting CFW, and I've used Fat32 since day one.
This error started upon updating my Switch and my CFW.
I've tried everything from the Hekate Fix to checking my formatting(Fat32), even uninstalling and reinstalling my CFW from the ground up, removing my Sword contents folder, uninstalling and reinstalling the 3GB from my Switch/SD card, removing all my saves for Sword from JKSV and even deleting the save I've been cultivating for years-- no results, sadly.
The only thing I've seen work is booting from Stock.
I'm booting from a game card. Booting other games from game cards does not reproduce the same results. Booting other modded games works, unlike Pokemon Sword. Removing mods, as stated previously, do nothing.
The error information reads the following;
"A fatal error occurred while running Atmosphere.
Title ID: 01004154D53000
Error: std::abort (0xFF3)"

I've looked up the error and, as stated above, tried whatever I could find. Nothing worked. I'm at my wit's end, can I please have some help?
 

spriteice

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
714
Country
Australia
Not a stupid question at all! I did multiple times, but I got the Updater NRO to be sure, updated my sigpatches, and sadly it still crashes. Thank you for making sure, though.

From what I understand it is better to install all CFW and sigpatch related files manually, but it seems you have already tried this. Sorry I couldn't be more help
 
  • Like
Reactions: whiteglovian

randy_w

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
347
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
716
Country
United States
It's a cartridge game, so sigpatches shouldn't matter.
Have you tried a nsp/xci version? Also have you tried deleting the emummc folder on sd card? I once had a similar problems where a game won't boot, had to delete that folder. Note make a backup as you'll lose all installed games on sd card.
 

whiteglovian

Fedora Lord
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
223
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Arizona
XP
479
Country
United States
It's a cartridge game, so sigpatches shouldn't matter.
Have you tried a nsp/xci version? Also have you tried deleting the emummc folder on sd card? I once had a similar problems where a game won't boot, had to delete that folder. Note make a backup as you'll lose all installed games on sd card.
My SD doesn't have the space, so I don't use emuMMC and therefore don't have an emuMMC folder. I also don't pirate anymore as that got my old switch banned.
 

Robmead23

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
161
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,084
  1. With the console powered off, hold down the volume up (+) and volume down (-) buttons, then press the POWER Button to turn the system on. ...
 

sudeki300

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
909
Trophies
0
XP
1,053
Country
United Kingdom
Title ID: 01004154D53000

do you have this folder on you sd card, if you do delete and reboot console, or if you can an older atmosphere version
 

HalfScoper

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
300
Trophies
0
Age
82
XP
714
Country
Germany
Nope, that did nothing. I entered maintenance mode, powered off, went into Atmosphere, and it still crashes.
Then either your setup is wrong or you didn't go into the mode correctly.

How to properly? Short version:

While loading fusee.bin hold both volume buttons and keep holding them until you reach the mode, if you inject fusee directly, hold the buttons from RCM onwards, if you chainload fusee from hekate hold the buttons before and after tapping the boot entry for Atmosphere.
Inside the mode take a look at the first option, it should state your FW and CFW version and if you booted the mode for sysNAND or emuNAND, which is important in case you use an emuNAND, both NANDs don't affect each other.
Nevertheless you do NOTHING and just reboot by holding POWER until the Switch turns off and then turning it on like you normally do.

My SD doesn't have the space, so I don't use emuMMC and therefore don't have an emuMMC folder. I also don't pirate anymore as that got my old switch banned.
Also just for context, if you do it right you won't get banned. https://rentry.org/AvoidSwitchBan
You could also use a resized emuNAND which would in theory fit on 32GB cards or even smaller.

Not a stupid question at all! I did multiple times, but I got the Updater NRO to be sure, updated my sigpatches, and sadly it still crashes. Thank you for making sure, though.
Lastly don't use any AIOs, get them from here: https://github.com/ITotalJustice/patches

Edit:
I'm booting from a game card. Booting other games from game cards does not reproduce the same results.
Oh yeah just because you mention cartridges (although it's weird that other games boot), make sure to give this a read aswell: https://rentry.org/DisableNOGC
 
Last edited by HalfScoper,
  • Like
Reactions: shanefromoz

whiteglovian

Fedora Lord
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
223
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Arizona
XP
479
Country
United States
Then either your setup is wrong or you didn't go into the mode correctly.

How to properly? Short version:

While loading fusee.bin hold both volume buttons and keep holding them until you reach the mode, if you inject fusee directly, hold the buttons from RCM onwards, if you chainload fusee from hekate hold the buttons before and after tapping the boot entry for Atmosphere.
Inside the mode take a look at the first option, it should state your FW and CFW version and if you booted the mode for sysNAND or emuNAND, which is important in case you use an emuNAND, both NANDs don't affect each other.
Nevertheless you do NOTHING and just reboot by holding POWER until the Switch turns off and then turning it on like you normally do.


Also just for context, if you do it right you won't get banned. https://rentry.org/AvoidSwitchBan
You could also use a resized emuNAND which would in theory fit on 32GB cards or even smaller.


Lastly don't use any AIOs, get them from here: https://github.com/ITotalJustice/patches

Edit:

Oh yeah just because you mention cartridges (although it's weird that other games boot), make sure to give this a read aswell: https://rentry.org/DisableNOGC
Thanks, but I did adequately boot into maintenance and followed your instructions exactly; same result, still crashes.
Thank you for your guide on not getting banned! I really appreciate it lmao. I use a 32GB SD, I gave my sister my 128GB SD but if she doesn't use it I may ask for it back.
I did download the patches directly, and it still crashed.
I disabled NoGC, and it also, once again, still crashes.
I decided to attach my crash report for good measure.
 

Attachments

  • report_02cc27177.zip
    397 bytes · Views: 6

HalfScoper

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
300
Trophies
0
Age
82
XP
714
Country
Germany
I sadly can't make anything out of those reports, can you instead share a picture of the screen when Atmosphere crashes?

Only other thing coming to my mind is if you perhaps use cheats for that game, then make sure you make an .ini file called system_settings at /SD/atmosphere/config/ (if the folder doesn't exist create it) and paste this inside system_settings.ini:

[atmosphere]
; Controls whether dmnt cheats should be toggled on or off by
; default. 1 = toggled on by default, 0 = toggled off by default.
dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x0

This will stop Atmosphere from trying to activate all cheats at once as soon as you start the game (which usually leads to a crash like yours).
 
Last edited by HalfScoper,

whiteglovian

Fedora Lord
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
223
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Arizona
XP
479
Country
United States
I sadly can't make anything out of those reports, can you instead share a picture of the screen when Atmosphere crashes?

Only other thing coming to my mind is if you perhaps use cheats for that game, then make sure you make an .ini file called system_settings at /SD/atmosphere/config/ (if the folder doesn't exist create it) and paste this inside:

[atmosphere]
; Controls whether dmnt cheats should be toggled on or off by
; default. 1 = toggled on by default, 0 = toggled off by default.
dmnt_cheats_enabled_by_default = u8!0x0

This will stop Atmosphere from trying to activate all cheats at once as soon as you start the game (which usually leads to a crash like yours).
Sure!
So I inserted the code, and sadly it still crashes.
Anyways, the picture I took is right here:
20220706_150005.jpg
 

HalfScoper

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
300
Trophies
0
Age
82
XP
714
Country
Germany
Phew I hoped it was a "bluescreen" with a bit more info on it.
I personally suggest to make either an issue on the Github page of Atmosphere for it with providing info according to the layout and providing your crash report, or trying to reach out to SciresM direclty, although I don't wanna "endorse bothering him" if you get what I mean.

Best of luck, I am sadly out of ideas right now, only useful info I found was this https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/issues/836 or this https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/issues/813
 
Last edited by HalfScoper,

whiteglovian

Fedora Lord
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
223
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
Arizona
XP
479
Country
United States
Phew I hoped it was a "bluescreen" with a bit more info on it.
I personally suggest to make either an issue on the Github page of Atmosphere for it with providing info according to the layout and providing your crash report, or trying to reach out to SciresM direclty, although I don't wanna "endorse bothering him" if you get what I mean.

Best of luck, I am sadly out of ideas right now, only useful info I found was this https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/issues/836 or this https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/issues/813
Thanks!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: I already eat the smallest size when I eat