1. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    Hello.

    3 day ago I bought New 3DS. Everything is good, expect one thing - camera. Everytime when I wanted to open camera (L+R in home), system says error has occured, restart. Same when tried open ar cards game or settings of outer cameras. Even stable 3d doesnt detect my face. Thought its firmware problem, so I just downgraded - nothing changed. Installed Luma with b9stool but again, errors, but now, with more informations. Somone can tell me whats goin on and how to fix that?


    Outer Cameras in settings --->


    An Error occurred (ErrDisp)

    Error Type: generic

    Process ID: 67115840

    Adress: 0x00000cfa
    Error code: 0x000000cf
     
  2. GinOkami428

    GinOkami428 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds to me like the camera is broken, man. Can you use its inner camera at all? And is it only with the L+R command or does it also do it with the actual camera app? I had a broken camera on one of my 3DS, and for some reason the back one was black but the front could still take pictures. Hope you can find help for your problem.
     
  3. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    Happens with every app that uses camera. I dont know how to check inner camera but stable 3d doesent detect my face, so it seems both cameras dont work at all.
     
  4. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    Mexico
    @TurdPooCharger I summon you!

    It seems that there are 3DS units that somehow manage to boot with broken cameras, the expected behaviour is an unbootable/semibrick state console. That or maybe your problem is another thing.
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  5. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    Thing is, hard to find any solution in internet. I dont know what to do. If somone who know, would say that the problem is broken camera, I can buy a new one and replace, but hey, even so, could it be defect of 2 cameras at once?
     
  6. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    @Dartz150, late reply. I did not receive a notification.

    ***

    @uMMo001, your Process ID: 67115840 error seems to be related to Luma3DS v10.0.1.
    Replace the sdmc:/boot.firm with the older Luma3DS v9.1.

    ***

    Your camera failure to launch reminds me of this o2DS,
    It was later determined the faulty camera was actually in fact due to a badly damaged 3DS firmware.

    See if this can be fixed with CTRTransfer (Type D9) - CTRTransfer.

    ***

    Lastly, your n3DS is capable of booting to HOME Menu despite none of the camera functions working correctly.

    While I don't believe this is the "blacks screens of death with HOME Menu sound and screens only work in Recover Mode"-type brick,
    You can try replacing the n3DS camera module.
     
    Dartz150 likes this.
  7. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    Oke, gonna try everything you said but how about outer cameras? If I will replace inner one, outers will work too? Is it like, if first is damaged, second wont even startup?
     
  8. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Focus on software solutions first before moving onto replacing the camera module.

    The Inner and outer cameras are part of a single module.
     
  9. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, way with replacing luma boot file is not working. But error has changed so here it is:

    Outer Cameras in settings --->

    Error Type: generic

    Process ID: 39
    Process name: mset
    Process Ttitle ID: 0x000400100002200

    Adress: 0x002155f0
    Error code: 0xf9605002


    And about CTRtransfer I can say I've tried this method but with adrifcastr's tutorial (cant sent link, just google adrifcastr ctrtransfer ;p) and results were unexpected for me. I mean, I could use my 3ds and play with it but whenever Ive tried enter settings to check version of firmware, 3ds crashes. And even after downgrade, L+R in menu werent work, games like ar cards too, so it looks like downgrading is usless. Or should I try again? If so, what version should I install? Im on the last one, 11.10.0.43E.
     
  10. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    This website?

    3Down 3DS CTRNAND Downgrade
    https://adrifcastr.github.io/3Down/

    Do you have a backup of your SysNAND *.bin image before downgrading with Decrypt9WIP CTRTransfer?
    While Decrypt9WIP works great for certain brick scenarios, that program doesn't restore certain console unique NAND files.

    The CTRTransfer (Type D9) I linked to you is not exactly the same as Decrypt9WIP CTRTransfer.

    ***

    You'll need to hex view check if your n3DS is using its own original HWCAL0.DAt, HWCAL1.DAt, and SecureInfo_A (or _B) because using dummy or foreign copies from another 3DS system can negatively alter the behavior of your n3DS.

    [​IMG]

    See if you have backup copies to fall back on.
     
  11. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    Exactly, that site u send.

    And no, I dont have a backup of sysnand. Thought I dont need if I did system update to lastest.

    Oke then, I will try your ctrtransfer and see what happen.
     
  12. CodyWGamer

    CodyWGamer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    does your ds mode work
     
  13. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    @TurdPooCharger

    There are no good news. Nothing has changed, and I did everything you said.

    @CodyWGamer

    Yes, it works.
     
    Last edited by uMMo001, Aug 28, 2019
  14. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, late reply. There's a hurricane heading towards Florida, so people here are a bit frantic.

    ***

    There is one last check to suss out if this a software bug.

    1. In GodMode9, go into the [1:] SYSNAND CTRNAND. Hold (R)-shoulder and press (X) on data folder and rename it to data2.
    • :!:Do not delete this folder as this contain your user profile and settings.

    2. Press (START) to boot the n3DS. (Try to) create a dummy user profile.
    • If you can't complete this, skip to step 4.

    3. See if the (L)+(R) shoulders combo to launch camera applet, Nintendo 3DS Camera, and System Settings → Other Settings → [ 3D Screen Check | Super-Stable 3D | Outer Cameras ] allows for working inner and outer cameras.

    4. Go back to GodMode9. Delete the (dummy) data folder with the (X) button. Rename the (real) data2 back to data.
    ***

    Outcome (A)
    If the cameras work in step 3, you have corrupt extdata and/or sysdata that's crashing the 3DS firmware whenever camera is used.
    Outcome (B)
    If you could not create the dummy user profile in step 2 -or- camera applications still crashed in step 3, you have some sort of hardware failure with the prime suspect being the camera module.
    • See post #6 about where to buy a replacement camera part and disassembly tutorial.
     
  15. uMMo001

    OP uMMo001 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Poland
    @TurdPooCharger

    Still nothing ://

    Looks like I have to buy new camera part and replace it. Think I will handle it with no problem. Need to replace analog anyway so I can do both at one time.

    Thank you so much for your help. At least now I know it's hardware issue :)
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - crashes, Camera, Stable