new 3ds, awaiting dstwo advice

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by dino01, Jun 17, 2011.

Jun 17, 2011

new 3ds, awaiting dstwo advice by dino01 at 7:57 PM (2,165 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right guys

    i have just bought a 3ds today to play zelda but have ordered a dstwo card and read stuff about the dstwo cards bricking so wanted your advice, currently my 3ds is still on 1.1.0-0E and wanted to know can i update it even tho i don't have my dstwo card yet or should i leave it until i get my dstwo so i can update my dstwo card on my 3ds, also i dont have any other ds's so i can only update on my 3ds
     
  2. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    It's technically possible to update the DS2 even on 3DS2.0 However it's somewhat risky and not recommended. Since your 3DS is on 1.0 you should stay there for now if possible, update the DS2 once you get it, then upgrade to 3DS 2.0.
     
  3. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers that what i thought would be best to do, so once i get my dstwo, i just stick the update on the microsd card update the ds2 and then update the 3ds???
     
  4. Kuschel-Drow

    Member Kuschel-Drow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Duisburg
    Country:
    Germany
    uhm... it's not that I want to make you cry but...
    My DSTWO didn't work on the original firmware of the 3DS.
    So I HAD to use my DSi to upgrade it. Then I put it into my 3DS and well... it worked, and I could upgrade it to 2.0. ^^

    So I wonder how you guys updated your DSTWO's on your 3DS system... xD

    Well in the worst case you'll have to borrow an older system from a friend for a few minutes, but I'm not so sure about the new firmware for the DSi and the original DSTWO either. ^^"

    I have kept my DSL for any case. Even got a non updated DSi and my updated DSi XL...
    So well... if it won't work find someone with a DSL best x)
     
  5. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Odd I thought the SDSC2 worked out of the box on the 3DS? Could be wrong. Either way he can upgrade on 2.0 via the other method, which is slightly scarier but still officially sanctioned.
     
  6. molh394

    Member molh394 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore
    New DSTWOs should work out of the box at least on 3DS v1, especially if the 3DS capability was advertised by the seller. Perhaps Kuschel-Drow's DSTWO was not as new?
     
  7. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    It depends on the seller, some sellers flash the cards before shipping them, others don't.
     
  8. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers for the advice guys when i get my dstwo card i will be sure to let you know how i get on!!!
     
  9. Woodhouse

    Newcomer Woodhouse Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on what card you will get ,Some resellers have already started selling the pre flashed card, if you get one of them , you dont need to update your card ,just update your 3DS to 2.1.0-3 and then use the DSTwo . if you get the old card , then you need to update the DSTwo first and remember do not update your 3DS before you update your card ! [​IMG]
     
  10. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well woodhouse, i am getting the card from xpertron, who are listed on the supercard site as dealers of the dstwo, i will find out shortly what needs to be done and im sure the lovely people on here will help me get it all up and running.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right guys got my dstwo now, can someone please point me in the direction f some instructions to get my 3ds and dstwo both as up to date as possible and which order to update them

    cheers in advance guys

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    get the following files

    DStwo Frimware update 1.12
    DS Two Latest OS 1.11

    extract both files to SD card on DStwo

    place in 3DS

    DStwo will promt you to press A to update

    once update finsihed DStwo is up to date

    then go to setting on 3DS

    options

    4 menu to left

    system update

    will update to 2.1 -0.3

    bam all done

    copy you nds backups to DStwo to play
     
  13. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thank you very much sir but i think th dstwop is already up to date as it didnt prompt mew to update anything?? - scrap that didnt know you had to put the update file in the root of the microsd card!!!
     
  14. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    yea, why i said just extract both to the SD card

    should work fine on 2.1.-0.3 once updated
     
  15. dino01
    OP

    Newcomer dino01 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea i extracted them to the micro sd card just didn't take it out of the folder saying eng, haha
     

Share This Page