Hacking need help with frozen games on r4 card

goblue

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
I have a r4 card that has approx 30 games. Just got if off a guy last week. Been playing it for the last 4 days with know problems but when I turned it on yesterday, it loaded then then froze on the last game I was playing. I tried the paper trick that was suggested and it didn't work. I am new to this firmware stuff and was wondering if I could update the r4 without losing these games. Can anyone give me advice on what to do?

jurassicplayer

Completionist Themer
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
United States
goblue said:
I have a r4 card that has approx 30 games. Just got if off a guy last week. Been playing it for the last 4 days with know problems but when I turned it on yesterday, it loaded then then froze on the last game I was playing. I tried the paper trick that was suggested and it didn't work. I am new to this firmware stuff and was wondering if I could update the r4 without losing these games. Can anyone give me advice on what to do?
Changing firmwares shouldn't affect your games unless something terribly bad has happened and corrupted your microSD (forcing you to reformat). The best way to prevent losing your stuff is to back it up and store it someplace safe temporarily (usually I archive my files in one .7z archive and put it someplace) and then attempt changing your firmware.

One thing you should remember regarding the R4 cards, since there is a multitude (a cascade really) of R4 clones, it is usually best to type in the EXACT title of the card, maybe an image of the box, as well as the website that the box tells you to visit so people know what R4 clone they might be dealing with. This sort of information is generally needed for all problems regarding any R4 clone (otherwise we wouldn't really know what clone we are working with).