Hacking Question Need help with blue screen after accidentally going 9.0

Aechylos

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Denmark
Hello,

This might be a bit long because I have run into numerous problems along the way.
The other day I posted this https://gbatemp.net/threads/might-have-bricked-my-console.547819/ and luckily discovered I had NOT bricked my switch, the act of trying to update a game made the system download the new update for 9.0. So here I am trying to downgrade it again to 8.0 (my previous firmware). I can f-g it since it an older model of the switch, so at least there's that.
Okay so here goes;
So I tried running hekate and going for the eMMC... This for some reason gave the error (4). I then tried moving the files around in the "/backup/<emmc s/n>/restore/" as according to; https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/110 but still the same issue, even after ptting the files in different places. Well I didn't take it too much to heart because this would reset everything anyway, and there might be other ways, so I decided on trying to revert my firmware.
I followed the guide https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade and everything seemed easy and straightforward until I discovered you needed the keys from lockpick or some similar program. I had already gotten the keys previously because I needed them to convert some xci files to nsp with 4nxci back when my homebrew was working. But when I ran the command "ChoiDujour.exe --keyset=keys.txt fw" as stated I run into this error: (Removed image because full set of keys was stated).
Then again according to the marvelos gbatemp forum I found some other people with the same troubles I had;
https://gbatemp.net/threads/problem-in-choidujour.527729/
https://gbatemp.net/threads/lockpick-switch-key-derivation-homebrew.525575/
Especially on the second link, I noticed "ChoiDujour will complain about extra keys and fail. for this just provide a key file edited to contain only the following:" and tried doing as stated and deleted all unnecessary keys. This still results in the same failure, every time. So I thought maybe I needed a new key and booted up hekate and tried going for lockpick-rcm in the payload option. Extracted the keys, renamed them tried again, same error on the cmd-prompt. So i tried with deleting the unnecessary keys once more, but still to no avail. I have to note when I extracted the keys it came with an error; Failed to decrypt Package2. (It said it found 84 keys).
I thought maybe I could boot into homebrew so I tried launching the system from hekate loader but this will only give a black screen and anything else will result in a blue screen.
So does any of you kind people out there have any suggestions as to how to solve any of the 2 problems?
 
Last edited by Aechylos,

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,335
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
7,998
Country
United States
Don't show your full set of keys here, it looks like you burned your fuse and attempted downgrade to a lower firmware that what caused the brick, should just have stayed on 9.0.0 and wait for CFW support, how did you downgrade via NAND backup?
 

Aechylos

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Denmark
Don't show your full set of keys here, it looks like you burned your fuse and attempted downgrade to a lower firmware that what caused the brick, should just have stayed on 9.0.0 and wait for CFW support, how did you downgrade via NAND backup?
You mean to say I completely bricked my console?
And I tried to use the hekate tools option with eMMC restoration. Should I delete the image with my keys?
 

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,335
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
7,998
Country
United States
You mean to say I completely bricked my console?
And I tried to use the hekate tools option with eMMC restoration. Should I delete the image with my keys?

You don't need the whole world to know your set of keys, you can try to rebuild to 6.2, or 5.1 if you have no NAND backup, really bad idea to downgrade when you just stayed on 9.0.0 and wait for CFW support.
 

Aechylos

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Denmark
You don't need the whole world to know your set of keys, you can try to rebuild to 6.2, or 5.1 if you have no NAND backup, really bad idea to downgrade when you just stayed on 9.0.0 and wait for CFW support.
Well technically I haven't actually downgraded yet, but I tried to. That means I should still be on 9.0. So your suggestion is just to wait instead of rebuilding? I do have a NAND backup.
 
Last edited by Aechylos,

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,335
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
7,998
Country
United States
Well technically I haven't actually downgraded yet, but I tried to. That means I should still be on 9.0. So your suggestion is just to wait instead of rebuilding? I do have a NAND backup.

Well you have a blue screen so that is a non bootable state, also seem like you burned your fuse if you updated via Nintendo server, you can try to restore the NAND backup along with boot0/boot1 , or try to rebuild your NAND, how you downgrade in the first place by restoring the NAND or using ChoidujourNX?
 

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
944
Country
Australia
Just turn off auto rcm and it should boot into stock 9.0
Hekate doesn't work on 9.0 yet so you can't boot stock that way but suggest you check the fuse count before removing auto rcm in the off chance you didn't burn to 9.0
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,115
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,452
Country
Norway
Hello,

This might be a bit long because I have run into numerous problems along the way.
The other day I posted this https://gbatemp.net/threads/might-have-bricked-my-console.547819/ and luckily discovered I had NOT bricked my switch, the act of trying to update a game made the system download the new update for 9.0. So here I am trying to downgrade it again to 8.0 (my previous firmware). I can f-g it since it an older model of the switch, so at least there's that.
Okay so here goes;
So I tried running hekate and going for the eMMC... This for some reason gave the error (4). I then tried moving the files around in the "/backup/<emmc s/n>/restore/" as according to; https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/110 but still the same issue, even after ptting the files in different places. Well I didn't take it too much to heart because this would reset everything anyway, and there might be other ways, so I decided on trying to revert my firmware.
I followed the guide https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade and everything seemed easy and straightforward until I discovered you needed the keys from lockpick or some similar program. I had already gotten the keys previously because I needed them to convert some xci files to nsp with 4nxci back when my homebrew was working. But when I ran the command "ChoiDujour.exe --keyset=keys.txt fw" as stated I run into this error: (Removed image because full set of keys was stated).
Then again according to the marvelos gbatemp forum I found some other people with the same troubles I had;
https://gbatemp.net/threads/problem-in-choidujour.527729/
https://gbatemp.net/threads/lockpick-switch-key-derivation-homebrew.525575/
Especially on the second link, I noticed "ChoiDujour will complain about extra keys and fail. for this just provide a key file edited to contain only the following:" and tried doing as stated and deleted all unnecessary keys. This still results in the same failure, every time. So I thought maybe I needed a new key and booted up hekate and tried going for lockpick-rcm in the payload option. Extracted the keys, renamed them tried again, same error on the cmd-prompt. So i tried with deleting the unnecessary keys once more, but still to no avail. I have to note when I extracted the keys it came with an error; Failed to decrypt Package2. (It said it found 84 keys).
I thought maybe I could boot into homebrew so I tried launching the system from hekate loader but this will only give a black screen and anything else will result in a blue screen.
So does any of you kind people out there have any suggestions as to how to solve any of the 2 problems?
Wait a couple of days, the Atmosphere update is almost ready.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aechylos

Aechylos

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Denmark
Well you have a blue screen so that is a non bootable state, also seem like you burned your fuse if you updated via Nintendo server, you can try to restore the NAND backup along with boot0/boot1 , or try to rebuild your NAND, how you downgrade in the first place by restoring the NAND or using ChoidujourNX?
I never made choidujour work, so I never actually downgraded. I tried making and eMMC restoration but that resulted in a blue screen so now you suggest me doing a NAND restoration? Is it possible to check what my firmware is on hekate just to be sure I'm on the right firmware?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Wait a couple of days, the Atmosphere update is almost ready.
Are you serious? That's super quick?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Just turn off auto rcm and it should boot into stock 9.0
Hekate doesn't work on 9.0 yet so you can't boot stock that way but suggest you check the fuse count before removing auto rcm in the off chance you didn't burn to 9.0
How do I check whether I burned a fuse?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,115
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,452
Country
Norway
I never made choidujour work, so I never actually downgraded. I tried making and eMMC restoration but that resulted in a blue screen so now you suggest me doing a NAND restoration? Is it possible to check what my firmware is on hekate just to be sure I'm on the right firmware?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Are you serious? That's super quick?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


How do I check whether I burned a fuse?
I read yesterday 9.0 is working already but there is an issue with homebrew not recognizing button inputs due to changes Nintendo made so the update was delayed a couple of days to fix it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aechylos

Hayato213

..
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
12,335
Trophies
1
Location
Aionios
XP
7,998
Country
United States
I never made choidujour work, so I never actually downgraded. I tried making and eMMC restoration but that resulted in a blue screen so now you suggest me doing a NAND restoration? Is it possible to check what my firmware is on hekate just to be sure I'm on the right firmware?

You can try to do a NAND restore if you have one, but you need the matching pair of boot0/boot1 that is associated with your firmware, just that you have to use a bootloader, not really sure if the anti downgrade change in 9.0.0 affect you or not.

https://switchbrew.org/wiki/9.0.0
https://gbatemp.net/threads/ive-messed-up-my-reaction-to-new-update-p-s-pelp-me.547881/

Falo comment in the thread above kinda explain the new change.
 

Aechylos

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Denmark
I read yesterday 9.0 is working already but there is an issue with homebrew not recognizing button inputs due to changes Nintendo made so the update was delayed a couple of days to fix it.
Thank you very much. But do you know if I can somehow figure out what firmware I'm on with hekate, just to make sure I didn't mess up too much?
 

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
944
Country
Australia
Thank you very much. But do you know if I can somehow figure out what firmware I'm on with hekate, just to make sure I didn't mess up too much?
There is an option in Hekate I think under tools that tells you
I am 90% sure your on.9.0 and atm the only way yo boot 9.0 is not through rcm
 

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
944
Country
Australia
If Hekate shows 11 fuses (can be found under system info in the old vet and I think tools in the gui version) your on 9.0. 10 fuses is 8.1
 

Aechylos

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2019
Messages
15
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
59
Country
Denmark
If Hekate shows 11 fuses (can be found under system info in the old vet and I think tools in the gui version) your on 9.0. 10 fuses is 8.1
Thank you, it seems I have 11 fuses, as suspected. Thank you very much for your assistance, and seems like the easiest option is to wait for the new update for hekate.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Just had Australian wagyu now I feel like kicking things