NEED HELP! Making DS homebrew applications/games

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Happi2Night, Apr 18, 2009.

1. Happi2Night
    OP

Newcomer Happi2Night Newbie

United States
    Hey there! I know this might sound awkward, but I want to make my own NDS application/games and I don't know how to start. Right now I am studying C programming and I might start C++ programming soon. Right now I installed devkitPRO but I don't get what to do with it. Is there anyone that can teach me how to program things? I would rather be an under study of a sucessful homebrewer than studying by myself. I can't understand what I am studying sometimes...Please the ones willing to help me make my own NDS applications....

2. sprogurt

Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom
  3. SifJar

Member SifJar Not a pirate

United Kingdom
    dsgamemaker is pretty crap imo, because i cant get it to compile stuff, despite following the instructions very carefully. also, you can make much better programs and games by using C++ with DevKitPro, and dsgamemaker requires PALib, which makes you downgrade DevKitPro, so if you then want to make decent apps and games, you have to reinstall DevKitPro.

4. spinal_cord

Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

United Kingdom
  5. sprogurt

Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom
    I used to have that prob on my pc but it works fine on my laptop. and yeah it's a bit suckish you have to downgrade but it's a hell of a lot easier!

6. Psyfira

Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

United Kingdom
    There's a pretty good tutorial on using C with Devkitpro over on Patater.com, and some other useful information in this post, including a link to the libnds API documentation.

7. anandjones

Member anandjones GBAtemp Regular

New Zealand