Need clarification about USB Laoder GX Auto Patching and NSMB

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by taggart6, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. taggart6
    OP

    Member taggart6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    Howdy All,

    I'm looking for some clarification. I'm running a NTSC 4.1 Wii with a1.9s wiikey.

    I have the latest version of USB Loader GX.

    I'm not sure what cIOS rev I have though I know its 13 or higher.

    I have a scrubbed clean copy of NSMB that I loaded on my USB HD via WBFS Manager 3.01.

    I was told that the latest copy of USB Laoder GX should auto patch a clean copy of the game. However I still get the black screen general error message when I try to runt eh game.

    Suggestions?

    I've heard that CIOS rev 15 is out. Do I need to update that too?
     
  2. GolfDude

    Member GolfDude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    788
    Country:
    United States
    download the newest revision of r830 that jsut got released minutes ago.. it has the ntsc patch for mario built in...
     
  3. y2gray

    Newcomer y2gray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    I downloaded r830 and I'm trying to run the NTSC Mario as well and at first I got the black error screen, then after powering off/on my Wii and trying to load it again, I just get a black screen (no text) and the game doesn't load. The PAL version works fine, but I'd rather run NTSC.

    Help!
     
  4. y2gray

    Newcomer y2gray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    I downloaded r830 and I'm trying to run the NTSC Mario as well and at first I got the black error screen, then after powering off/on my Wii and trying to load it again, I just get a black screen (no text) and the game doesn't load. The PAL version works fine, but I'd rather run NTSC.

    Help!
     
  5. Skiller

    Member Skiller GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada

    WHat i did ..

    GX ver 830 turned on Auto For 002 error (i have Rev14)
    and things are seeming to work perfect
     
  6. markedmanner

    Newcomer markedmanner Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    If you still dont have NSMB working and you have the latest verison of GX you should try deleting the config files for GX. I have found I have to do that sometimes.
     
  7. taggart6
    OP

    Member taggart6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! Updating USB Loader GX did the trick
     
  8. Makita426

    Newcomer Makita426 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I'm currently using USB Loader GX revision 815 as a channel, would you please tell me how I can upgrade to the latest version. I've downloaded the latest r831.dol file, where should I put the file?
     
  9. nervx

    Member nervx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    Canada
    i updated USB Loader GX to the r830 and now when i select it from the homebrew channel i get a black screen. i cant even load the loader itself. if i go back to r815 it works again but anything higher seems to black screen. HELP!
     
  10. y2gray

    Newcomer y2gray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Canada
    This fixed it, thanks!

    And I should have thought of it before, cause I've had to do that in the past to fix issues before.
     
  11. Cyberxion

    Newcomer Cyberxion Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the same problem. The r815 works just fine for me, but r830 just sits on a black screen.
     
  12. whamarcelo

    Newcomer whamarcelo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil

    I'm having the same black screen problem with rev 830, please if anyone solve this post here!
     
  13. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    If you updated from a previous version of USB Loader GX to the latest version and you're getting a black screen, make sure you delete the USB Loader GX cfg files. They will be re-created automatically for the new version and should fix your problem.

    If you have USB Loader GX installed as a channel, you can update it by ensuring you have a WiFi connection setup on your Wii and then clicking the Update button in the Settings menu of USB Loader GX. It will update you automatically.
     
  14. whamarcelo

    Newcomer whamarcelo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Brazil
    I've updated via Loader menu, I've always updated that way, but with rev 830 version it gives a black screen when starting (via forwarder or via hbc)
     
  15. neal80921

    Newcomer neal80921 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi, this is my first post.

    First, I would like to thank all those involved in supplying all the software/firmware to get this all working. Very impressive and even an oldtimer such as myself can (eventually) get things working (with persistence).

    That being said, I have run into a minor snag. I just installed USB Backup Loader R815 (works quite well for me and all my games seems to work now) but I like having the ability to update the application through my wifi network. Unfortunately, when I attempt try it out, it says I cannot since the console is locked. In true fact, it is not (at least not visually). I have entered a password (under parental control) and it even indicates it is unlocked, however, update continues to insist it is unlocked. Is there another (secret) password or setting to get this working? Also, if I ever do get to access this feature, do I need to indicate a path to direct it it to my network (rather than the SD card it is pointing to now)?

    Thanks for any assistance you can give me and again, thanks for the wonderful work you all are putting into this endeavour.

    Neal
     
  16. beav1s

    Newcomer beav1s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    neal80921
    try disabling the parental control completely then updating, turning back on if you need/use
    if that still doesnt work, delete all config files, they will automatically be created when u run the loader again
    as for wireless, as long as your wii itself is already setup on network, usbgx wireless will work fine
     
  17. neal80921

    Newcomer neal80921 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks. I am sorry, I did not know anyone responded to this query. I thought a response would be flagged to my email address. I appreciate your suggestion and will give it a try.
     
  18. splitsec

    Newcomer splitsec Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    It isn't refering to the Wii parental controls, it is refering to the USB loader GX lock... There is no password by default, but it defaults to locked every time you launch it (or at least mine does)... I think it is on the second page of menus. Just click ok when it asks you for the password.
     

Share This Page