N64 on DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by matthewd997, Feb 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Feb 10, 2008

N64 on DS by matthewd997 at 5:30 PM (1,520 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. matthewd997
    OP

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    look dont bamboozle me with posts calling me a spammer because I have an idea:

    It is impossible to run N64 games on a DS, but (this is only an idea)

    is there a way to strip down the N64 file and run it on DS

    ie; downgrade the graphics a bit - downgrade the sound or even remove part of the game

    eg; remove characters in super smash bros for instance.

    if we could strip them down just enough then maybe - just maybe we could emulate them on DS.

    like i say its just an idea - dont just post and say NO if you think i am wrong, explain why not,
    because if i am right then we need to know how and if this is possible think how big this forum would become, the first forum to find a way to run the impossible,

    so, what do you think
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No because you would need the source code, libraries and all the resources for the original game. You could always try disassembling and porting it to the DS but then you would need to be Neo.
     
  3. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    No.

    You'd have to rewrite the entire game coding.
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Even if you do manage to remove some graphics and sprites, you would need to rewrite all the code so it works on the DS' processor.

    Unless you're saying something like taking out graphics and replacing them, that still wont work because its still designed to run a processor of similar power to the DS, which can't be emulated by the DS.
     
  5. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    The games would work that way.. but that's not emulating, that's remaking the entire game for the DS [​IMG]
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I usually hate posting nothing but an image, but this deserves it:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    oh, gawd.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG] N00B ALERT! N00B ALERT! [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Surely you didn't think this was actually going to happen, did you?

    "No, of course not, but don't call me Shirley"

    [​IMG]

    By the way, if you want to 'run the impossible', try making the Xbox360 and PS3 emulator for the DS, like we did for Smash Bros Online DS [​IMG]
     
  8. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    What are you talking about, that was a masterpiece of coding that we did!
     
  9. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    You mean a masterpiece of coding that I DID! Remember:
    IF GAME EQUALS PS3 THEN
    PLAY
    END IF

    It worked like a charm.

    Probably a lot better than N64 emulation on a DS ever will [​IMG]
     
  10. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Wasn't there a stickie post about this? Or was that about emulating GBA?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page