1. TheToaster

    OP TheToaster Kishore Gowrishankar
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    I just picked up a New 3DS XL, and I read that it supports microSD cards up to 32 GB. Does it still support larger SD cards if I format it to FAT32?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G850A using Tapatalk
     
  2. xRogueShadow

    xRogueShadow Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I'm using 128gb.
     
    slaphappygamer and TheToaster like this.
  3. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,429
    Country:
    United States
    True. I'm using a 64gb in mine.
     
    TheToaster likes this.
  4. opollon

    opollon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Australia
    As long as it is formated to FAT32, one Primary partition and a Cluster size of 32KB even a 256GB microSD will work.
     
    TheToaster likes this.
  5. TheToaster

    OP TheToaster Kishore Gowrishankar
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    I am currently using my 32 GB microSD, but I ran out of space with only a few games installed. I added up the total number of blocks and got only 11,380. Why is this? Am I supposed the change the cluster size to 32KB or just leave it at default?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G850A using Tapatalk
     
  6. Hyoretsu

    Hyoretsu Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Brazil
    Maybe because you installed games that take up a lot of space?
     
  7. TheToaster

    OP TheToaster Kishore Gowrishankar
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    Never mind, I found the problem. I plugged it into my PC and found that it said there was only a capacity of 2.79GB on it. I just cleaned the drive and allocated a new primary partition with "Diskpart" on the command prompt, and now it works perfectly.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G850A using Tapatalk
     
Draft saved Draft deleted