1. JawhnL5

    OP JawhnL5 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Hello GBAtemp. First and foremost I hope that this post is not going against anything or is too vague so I'll just say what I know.

    I recently purchased an n3DS. It is on firmware 9.8, I have not yet updated. Talking to a friend who knows about 3DS hacking, he said I'd need Cubic Ninja or OOT to do any hacking on my 3DS. I wanted to confirm this with you guys since you know a lot more than I do at the moment, which is not much

    Just looking for any information about n3DS hacking on firmware 9.8 if possible. Many thanks!
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,942
    Country:
    Norway
    You can use the browser to launch browserhax and from there downgrade your 3DS with SafeSysUpdater. No need for CN/OoT.
     
    JawhnL5 likes this.
  3. JawhnL5

    OP JawhnL5 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    So I do not need to update the system before having browser access?
     
  4. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20,942
    Country:
    Norway
    Not on 9.8, they started doing that on 9.9 and up, so you're lucky :)
     
    JawhnL5 likes this.
  5. JawhnL5

    OP JawhnL5 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! Thanks so much :D
     
  6. hundshamer

    hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Blacklisted Trader

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Country:
    United States
  7. Hyura

    Hyura GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you have a browser that asks for the update, how would you do it?

    I have someone asking this somewhere else, but I don't have another 3DS to test it.
     
  8. Hayleia

    Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    France
    If you are talking about a New 3DS, you can try that https://gbatemp.net/threads/browserhax-is-still-working.400991/
    Otherwise, I guess you'd have to use a game as your entrypoint (either CN or OoT by using another 3DS or powersaves to set it up).
     
    Last edited by Hayleia, Jan 22, 2016
  9. Redirr

    Redirr X11 Extreme.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Brazil
    Haha im stuck at fw9.9 and no broser acess.
    Got advice to buy ooT
     
  10. Hyura

    Hyura GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just asked the guy about it. I think he has a Old 3DS, so hopefully he got Ironfall installed before (but I'm pretty sure he didn't).
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - firmware, advice, needed