My Wii remote is messed up...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Beatchu, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008

My Wii remote is messed up... by Beatchu at 4:04 PM (2,187 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Beatchu
    OP

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, my Wii remote is broken. When you connect your remote, usually the lights flash on and off and then your P1 light comes on doesn't it? Well mine doesn't. The lights don't flash at all.

    The next problem is that (I don't really know what to call it) the hand thing with the 1 - i'll call it the cursor from now - doesn't show up at all. Now you may think I'm being stupid and that I need new batteries but I don't, because on the internet channel I can still scroll the page with the D-pad, show and hide the toolbar with 1, etc.

    I've read that if you charge your Wii Remote with battery packs it can mess up the lights. Well... I have been doing this. And since Nintendo don't have a first party one, I've been using one made by Gamexpert.

    So my questions are
    1) Is there anything I can do to fix it myself?
    2) Will Nintendo repair it since I've been using a third party charger

    Thanks for reading

    P.S I typed all of this with my 1 working Wii Remote... The other one's broken
     
  2. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never heard of this before (some of it), thanks for taking the time to describe in detail whats wrong.

    You can try here:
    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/w...s/wiiremote.jsp

    This has many unusual problems with the remotes etc and advice on how to fix the problem.

    I think it sounds like they need re-synced.

    If you do send your remote to nintendo, how are they to know what batteries you have been using [​IMG]
     
  3. Beatchu
    OP

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, thanks for the link [​IMG]

    Just tried resyncing which didn't work - I didn't think it would, because I can still use the d-pad to navigate the page on the internet channel.

    And as for the lights, ordinarily when you press a button on your remote they all start flashing straight away don't they? Well mine don't.

    I can cope without the lights, I just want the cursor to come on the screen.

    Guess it's gonna have to go to Nintendo
     
  4. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Some things to keep in mind when trying to figure this out:
    The sensor bar contains IR leds
    The remotes have ir sensors in the front to detect the light emitted from the sensor bar
    The initial flashing of the leds on the remotes will indicate approx. battery power left (all lights flash = full batteries ; 1 light flashes = low batteries)
    The remote may have enough power to allow the dpad to function but not enough juice to operate the IR sensor to make the pointer work.
    What does the on-screen battery indicator show?
     
  5. Beatchu
    OP

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On screen is full but there is no initial flashing because the lights don't work. [​IMG]

    Called Nintendo 'bout an hour ago. They're sending me a label to freepost it to them and they said they'll replace it.
     
  6. india3

    Newcomer india3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    India
    Well, at least it'll get fixed. I had a different problem a few days ago. All the remotes would try to connect but it never would. It would just keep on blinking until it's time limit was passed. I couldn't figure out what was going on, until I unplugged the power cord from my wii and reconnected it. After that, it worked again.

    Still haven't been able to figure out what the connection between remotes connecting and the pwoer cable is though...
     
  7. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    I got a dead Wiimote myself. It suddenly began working HORRIBLE...

    Sadly i never returned it and my warrentee ended months ago [​IMG]
     
  8. india3

    Newcomer india3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    India
    what's wrong with it?
     
  9. FaRReR

    Member FaRReR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    the Internet
    Country:
    Australia
    I've been using a 3rd party charger, and I haven't had any problems with it. Nintendo won't care about the charger.
     
  10. Beatchu
    OP

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well this is pretty old now, but I sent it in (label took ages to arrive) and they just sent me a new one.

    I liked my old strap...
     

Share This Page