My DS has been bricked!

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by trae329, May 10, 2009.

May 10, 2009

My DS has been bricked! by trae329 at 1:30 PM (2,667 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. trae329
    OP

    Newcomer trae329 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    United States
    My DS Lite has been bricked accidentally by it shutting off at 1% in Flashme.
    I have an R4 and a CycloDS. I also am picking up a Supercard Lite on Monday.
    Yes, I did see the one Start + Select trick, it did not work.
    Please help me ASAP.

    trae329
    P.S I am new here.
     
  2. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,751
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    well, if START+SELECT do not work then im guessing you are screwed. how did the power turn off anyways?
     
  3. trae329
    OP

    Newcomer trae329 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    United States
    I shut it off. I am a noob at this, but i did see someone fix this using a Slot-2 card.
    I also have my Supercard Lite here, but i do not know how to fix it.

    trae329

    EDIT: Okay, I am buying a used ds lite tomorrow. Thanks anyway, KazoWAR!
    P.S. Do you have an account in Projectpokemon?
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    What happens if you hold Start+Select with just the Supercard Lite inserted? Can you get to the Supercard menu?
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you want, you could try the Parellel Port flashing thingy, which can recover you from a brick. But it needs you to dismantle your DS and solder stuff... If you're interested google DarkFader and find out how on his website.
     
  6. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    it's a lite, no soldering at all is needed

    just unplug the bios/wifi chip from working one
    put it in bricked one
    start flashme
    swap working for broken
    press xbxb
    wait till 100%
    ????
    profit!
     
  7. dark42

    Member dark42 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    R4 huh? Well, if it's a legit one (not a clone) you might be able to recover. I did this once and I recovered a bricked DS Lite. What you need to do is use a program called r4crypt (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=243) to encrypt the flashme installer and name it the same as that system file of the R4 (_DS_MENU.DAT) and put it on the root of the SD card. If you've flashed enough of flashme to have the recovery code in there you should be able to use Start+Select to boot up the R4 and continue flashing, and therefore unbrick.

    Got this info from this tutorial (http://www.allaboutgames.co.uk/blogs/2007/05/26/how-to-recover-a-half-flashed-ds-with-an-r4ds-or-m3-simply/), and I have personally used this info to recover a half-flashed DS Lite about 2 years ago. However if you turned off the power before flashme could write the recovery code in, you're SOL, your only option is to open up the DS and do a JTAG flash.
     
  8. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    It is possible to decode the generated _DS_MENU.DAT to work on clones so if he owns a clone he still has a shot.
     

Share This Page