Homebrew MPlayerCE v0.1

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
278
Country
http://code.google.com/p/mplayer-ce/

mplayerce_menu.jpg


Have Fun!

As always Read the ReadMe!!!

Changelog will be added to google code son

aspect ratio fix
improved dvd reading
Stops DVD Motor 60 seconds after each Mount!
improved smb
dvd cache fixed
USB & SDHC mount bugs fixed.....many more bugs fixed!


CODE---Compiling
In order to compile mplayer_ce you first need to build libdvdread and libdvdnav.
In config.mak in both libdvdread and libdvdnav you need to set both SRC_PATH and SRC_PATH_BARE
to the correct directory, eg /c/projects/mplayer_ce-source/libdvdread-trunk.ÂÂRemember that it is
case sensitive.ÂÂAfter this you can build livdvdread with 'make' and 'make install' and then libdvdnav
with 'make' and 'make install' (in that order).ÂÂNow you can build mplayer_ce with 'make'.
It should create mplayer.dol in the mplayer-trunk directory.

---Editing the source
The files you will want to look at specific to the wii port are
/osdep/plat_gekko.h
/osdep/plat_gekko.c
/osdep/getch2-gekko.c
/osdep/gx_supp.c
/osdep/gx_supp.h
/libvo/vo_gekko.c
/libao/ao_gekko_.c
/libao/ao_gekko.c
mplayer.c
Several other files are also modified but not to a great extent.

---Editing the confs

-----input.conf
The Wii Remote and Gamecube controller controls are mapped as:

GAMECUBE CONTROLLERÂÂÂÂ WII REMOTEÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂKEY
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂAÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ AÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ a
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂBÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ BÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ b
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂXÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 1ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ x
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂZÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ HOMEÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂz
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂLÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ MINUSÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ l
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂRÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ PLUSÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂr
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂLEFTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂLEFTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂLEFT
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂRIGHTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ RIGHTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ RIGHT
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂUPÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂUPÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂUP
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂDOWNÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂDOWNÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂDOWN

The Y button on the Gamecube Controller and the 2 button on the Wii Remote
acts as a modifier key (like shift) to add further control options:
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
GAMECUBE CONTROLLERÂÂÂÂ WII REMOTEÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂKEY
ÂÂÂÂY + AÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + AÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ A
ÂÂÂÂY + BÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + BÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ B
ÂÂÂÂY + XÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + 1ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ X
ÂÂÂÂY + ZÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + HOMEÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂZ
ÂÂÂÂY + LÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + MINUSÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ L
ÂÂÂÂY + RÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + PLUSÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂR
ÂÂÂÂY + LEFTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ2 + LEFTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂKP4
ÂÂÂÂY + RIGHTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ 2 + RIGHTÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ KP6
ÂÂÂÂY + UPÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ2 + UPÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂKP8
ÂÂÂÂY + DOWNÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ2 + DOWNÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂKP2
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
To map a control in input.conf should be fairly self-explanatory.ÂÂFirst write the
key you wish to map and then the mplayer option you want, listed here:
http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/tech/slave.txt
So for example, to make the OSD come up when you press 1 you would add

ÂÂÂÂx osd

or to make 2+1 switch the ratio to 16:9 you would add

ÂÂÂÂX switch_ratio 1.7778

-----menu.conf
There is little existing documentation on editing menu.conf, but it is that not difficult
to figure out by looking at an example.ÂÂIt is an xml-like file and it takes the normal mplayer
commands.ÂÂTo use it to load a specific file or stream use loadfile, e.g. to load a SopCast stream
from my own network:

ÂÂÂÂ
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ...
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
278
Country
Any issues please report to Google Code page...

Possible BUG on some USB DRIVES

if you boot up MPlayerCE, then insert a USB drive, try browsing USB, it shows SD files?
Quit MPlayer, IT WILL REQUIRE YOU TO REMOVE THAT USB TO QUIT

Insert USB, then boot up MPlayerCE, your USB should be mounted, browse USB, quit should work as intended.....


Some USB's are unsupported, will try to add more support...
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
189
Country
Swaziland
First, many thanks for this release
smile.gif
. Now, shurly I've done some testings, and I will only write the new Things and bugs that I've found/recognized:

-Checks for DVD when it boots
-16:9 menu



-Crashes when attaching a USB-Device
-USB don't work
-Ratio don't Autoboot (I've added it in the Config)


Anyways, a such a great App deserves a great Channel!!! I'll start at one on Tuesday, maybe even animated. Let's see
wink.gif
.
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
278
Country
QUOTE said:
-Crashes when attaching a USB-Device
-USB don't work
check my above post for USB!
smile.gif
report back...

QUOTE-Ratio don't Autoboot (I've added it in the Config)
your doing it wrong.....the readme was an example
try
ratio=1.7777 add this line in mplayer.conf preferably above the loop.avi line
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
189
Country
Swaziland
UranusKiller said:
QUOTE said:
-Crashes when attaching a USB-Device
-USB don't work
check my above post for USB!
smile.gif
report back...

QUOTE-Ratio don't Autoboot (I've added it in the Config)
your doing it wrong.....the readme was an example
try
ratio=1.7777 add this line in mplayer.conf preferably above the loop.avi line

Ok, grabbed all USB-Things I've found
smile.gif


-USB-HD, 80 GB: GeeXbox: Yes MPlayer: ? (Freeze)
-SD-to-USB-Stick: GeeXbox: Yes MPlayer: Yes
-USB-Stick 8 GB: GeeXbox: No MPlayer: No
-USB-Stick 2 GB: GeeXbox: No MPlayer: No
-USB-Stick 128 MB: GeeXbox: ? MPlayer: No
-Sony Ericsson Mobile via USB: GeeXbox: ? MPlayer: ? (Freeze)

Maybe more to come, I'll edit this post
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
189
Country
Swaziland
UranusKiller said:
did you do as i said Insert USB before booting Mplayer?

Yep, Inserted in USB-Port and then booted MPlayer, AND MPlayer running and then Inserted in USB-Port, with all of those:

-USB-HD, 80 GB: GeeXbox: Yes MPlayer: ? (Freeze at boot-up, and if you plug it in after bootup)
-SD-to-USB-Stick: GeeXbox: Yes MPlayer: Yes (Boot-up AND plug-in after bootup)
-USB-Stick 8 GB: GeeXbox: No MPlayer: No (Not recognized)
-USB-Stick 2 GB: GeeXbox: No MPlayer: No (Not recognized)
-USB-Stick 128 MB: GeeXbox: ? MPlayer: No (Not recognized)
-Sony Ericsson Mobile via USB: GeeXbox: ? MPlayer: ? (Freeze at boot-up, and if you plug it in)

So, the number one solotion would be the green one for me now...

Oh, and at the Config:
CODEvo=gekko
ao=gekko
framedrop=yes
alang=en
really-quiet=yes

menu=yes
menu-startup=yes
cache=8192
cache-min=4
loop=0

ratio=1.7778
bgvideo=sd:/apps/mplayer_ce/loop.avi

This way?
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
278
Country
QUOTE said:
vo=gekko
ao=gekko
framedrop=yes
alang=en
really-quiet=yes

menu=yes
menu-startup=yes
cache=8192
cache-min=4
loop=0

ratio=1.7778
bgvideo=sd:/apps/mplayer_ce/loop.avi

yeah but change ratio=1.7778 to ratio=1.7777 REPORT BACK
tongue.gif

sad about USB
frown.gif
we didn't have much test with USB, SMB is really strong though..same 1 share for now though
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
189
Country
Swaziland
UranusKiller said:
QUOTE said:
vo=gekko
ao=gekko
framedrop=yes
alang=en
really-quiet=yes

menu=yes
menu-startup=yes
cache=8192
cache-min=4
loop=0

ratio=1.7778
bgvideo=sd:/apps/mplayer_ce/loop.avi

yeah but change ratio=1.7778 to ratio=1.7777 REPORT BACK
tongue.gif

sad about USB
frown.gif
we didn't have much test with USB, SMB is really strong though..same 1 share for now though

First: Yes, it is a little Sad for USB, be able to use the 80 GB-HD would be sooo cool...but I think you'll be able to figure out correct this.
smile.gif
I can be the USB-Tester, if you want
tongue.gif
. I don't like Samba, why should I stream Music, when I can hear it on the PC? It's useless for me...
Sad news at 16:9: Still don't work...
frown.gif
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
278
Country
QUOTE said:
Sad news at 16:9: Still don't work...
it should auto to 16/9 is the loop.avi showing full screen when you change mplayer.conf to

vo=gekko
ao=gekko
framedrop=yes
alang=en
really-quiet=yes

menu=yes
menu-startup=yes
cache=8192
cache-min=4
loop=0

ratio=1.7777
bgvideo=sd:/apps/mplayer_ce/loop.avi


??it should work, but MPlayer has auto aspect anyway, and check options.....aspect is in their
smile.gif

but that path in mplayer.conf should autoboot to 16/9 hmmmm

QUOTEI don't like Samba, why should I stream Music
who said anything about music?
tongue.gif
Divx's are brilliant over the network...never know your USB no PC may work well no the Network, make a share like the readme says
smile.gif
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
189
Country
Swaziland
Just found out some other bugs, also again with the evil 16:9...
tongue.gif


First some Infos: The Start-Up (Names, Network, Power CPU, etc..) IS 16:9
tongue.gif
. But the Menu is 4:3 or something like that. When I change it to 16:9, it's ok, until I load an Audio-File...it switches back to 4:3...and at next boot-up, the same "game"...

@Samba-Thing: I don't want to start-up the PC, and then the Wii, then set up the Streaming and then watch the Film...it's way too complicated...it's better for me to start the Wii, go to SD, and watch the Movie from my 4 GB-SDHC...muuuuch better
biggrin.gif
.

Oh, and if it's unclear: I'm not criticize the Creators, I LOVE this App, the best one until now for me. I just report some Bugs, so I can be even better
smile.gif
.
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
278
Country
QUOTE said:
You're better off using mplayer ultimate edition
What? are you serious?
Let me get one thing straight Mplayer Ultimate IS MPLAYERCE ORIGINAL but with a changed title in menu.conf ANYONE CAN DO THAT!

Next this a new release to the original, as you can see, many fixes etc...
DON'T COMPARE UE with THIS as UE is just a title! but is actually exactly the same original CE!
understand?
 

jservs7

Witcher of Whores
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
892
Trophies
0
XP
222
Country
United States
So far, this version has froze on me on 3 occasions when I tried to start it. When it did start, it took longer to initialize then the original MPlayerCE, my loop.avi file moves slower & it still has not been able to play certain avi files I have that only worked in GeeXboX.

For now, I'll work with the older version. Good luck with more updates.
smile.gif
 

Gamer

DS Gamer
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Messages
634
Trophies
2
Location
Monterrey, México
Website
www.pikaflash.com
XP
507
Country
Mexico
Hey guys, thanks a lot for your work.

Now, I don't know if you can fix this, but I tested some types of media files:

-MP4. Lately we've seen a lot of videos with a high compression but a very good quality in this format. I know they require a lot of processor power because of this compression, but I tested one of those, and the video seems to freeze very frequently, while the music goes on. However, Geexbox-Wii seems to handle those better, and while it skips some frames, you can still watch the video, so dunno if geebox uses other mplayer version or something.

-RM. Yeah, I also know they are very rare but I tested one of them, but doesn't show any video just music, and also those files seems to freeze the emu. Again, Geexbox-Wii handle those just fine.

So thanks for your hard work, most times I prefer to use mplayer, but for those I'm telling you, I have to use Geexbox, which, for me, seems to have very bad player controls.

Cheers!
 

badbwai

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
47
Trophies
0
XP
72
Country
Canada
Um Question!
Can this play .MKV files?
If so, that would be so freaking amazing!
If not, this app is still freaking amazing =D
Thank you for it!
 

robiul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
538
Trophies
0
Location
United Kingdom
XP
227
Country
United States
jservs7 said:
So far, this version has froze on me on 3 occasions when I tried to start it. When it did start, it took longer to initialize then the original MPlayerCE, my loop.avi file moves slower & it still has not been able to play certain avi files I have that only worked in GeeXboX.

For now, I'll work with the older version. Good luck with more updates.
smile.gif

Exactly.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Theirs a ton of videos going about how people are getting dust clogged consoles from DKOldies