Moonshell 2

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ekolimits, Jan 1, 2009.

Jan 1, 2009

Moonshell 2 by ekolimits at 4:07 PM (18,008 Views / 0 Likes) 49 replies

  1. ekolimits
    OP

    Member ekolimits GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    N.J.
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i figured this part of the forum needs a moonshell 2 discussion.
    I installed mine on my m3 sakura (real using sakura) and it gets stuck on 80%...
    I think its because its doing a disk check and i know i got some things bad because imgview gets stuck around my system folder.
    Is there any way to stop disk check?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ok it was doing a disk check... i recopied my system folder and everything runs now! but what is all that settings stuff in the beggining? lol anyone know?
     


  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    let me get this right!?

    you have an M3 REAL with SAKURA and you want to install this BUGGY BETA release of MOONSHELL 2 because!? [​IMG]


    SAKURA media player = MOONSHELL 2 infact SAKURA is a million times better and its FINISHED this BUGGY BETA has no left to right slide feature that SAKURA uses some images dont show on the buttons too ...

    REAL SAKURA disk check does not bug out and stop your card loading like the BETA one does!

    The image viewer works in SAKURA too!


    TRUST ME don't bother its a STEP BACKWARDS if your using SAKURA already!

    you will loose some features and not gain anything new!


    the release is what it is a BETA!

    and those who will benefit are users of cards other than M3 REAL and ITOUCH that are not using the DLDI release of SAKURA as their media player!
     
  3. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    One great feature is that it detects (and uses) my M3's RAM properly. See, when I used to boot Moonshell from my M3 Perfect, it'd work fine, but since I bought a Supercard DS ONE SDHC and primarily use that now, it never seems to find the RAM (I guess because I'm booting from the Supercard). Now my question is how to convert skins for it. [​IMG]

    I think it's just great Moonlight is working on it again. [​IMG] Oh and yeah, it does look pretty much like the M3 Sakura. Just the same I'd rather use this (once it gets out of beta) than a hacked version of M3 Sakura.
     
  4. Reaper

    Member Reaper Tͩ͒ͥ̈́ͧ̓͑̆̂

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    United States
    So what does RAM do in moonshell?
    Please use correct grammar and proper paragraph structure. [​IMG]
     
  5. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We are on a discussion forum not writing a frikin essay! ... I can and WILL write however I want to here!

    I don't need someone that's younger than my own kids telling me how to write!

    Hell I've been around on the Internet longer than you have lived!

    No one gives a damn about paragraph structure .... have you wandered around on this forum with your eyes shut??

    so long as they get their questions answered with the right answer does it matter how its laid out!?
     
  6. Problematique

    Banned Problematique Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    New Zealand
    give him a break.
    he's like many of us, we've tried moon shell and curious what the new one is like..
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    See above in my comments .... the point being why try moonshell 2 BETA when he's already using the completed bug free version on M3 SAKURA!

    To add again ....Its a BETA version of SAKURA media player as I mentioned ... its very very buggy and a step backwards use the DLDI version of moonshell its complete looks like moonshell 2 because that's what it is! .. and it works no bugs I said that above!

    The moonshell 2 is like a cut down pre SAKURA release media player like with the DLDI version it does not launch games but neither did moonshell 1.71 and its minus the left to right slider file selection! (as mentioned above!)

    ....but apparently my explanation as told to me above was grammatically incorrect!
     
  8. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm not one to judge, or to criticise - but I would just like to say that I try to adhere to correct spelling, punctuation and grammar. [​IMG] As long as I can understand other peoples posts (and I will say that I certainly understood yours, kobykaan) I'm quite content. [​IMG]

    I've just had a play with Moonshell 2 on my EZ5+, and it's pretty good. Buggy, obviously, but promising. "+1" to Moonlight for his exemplary work, once again.
    But, yes: it is a beta, and as such cannot be expected to be perfect. As a Linux user, I am all too familiar with this concept. [​IMG]
     
  9. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I'm not sure what you're talking about. It doesn't seem to really have anything missing over the hacked M3 Sakura that I've seen (yes, I have tried both). Perhaps I'm just not noticing it. Now, it is slightly buggier (though not much more so than the M3 Sakura), but considering it's a beta that's to be expected.
     
  10. Rowan

    Member Rowan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    714
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just calm down O.K.
    We know your an old man O.K. we all accept it now please don't give lectures to the youths that haven't wasted their lives on the internet
    P.S. I have bolded all your mistakes
     
  11. NaokiKitsuhine

    Member NaokiKitsuhine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Brazil
    Where i can get this SAKURA that is the "finished" version of MS2? (this is what i've understand XD)
    because i'm downloading the MS2 Beta right now but kobykaan is saying that SAKURA is the finished version o.õ
     
  12. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's that M3 Sakura is the finished version, but rather this MoonShell 2 beta version is based off of Moonlight's work on the M3 Sakura.
     
  13. ekolimits
    OP

    Member ekolimits GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    N.J.
    Country:
    United States
    all i was saying was that i was curious to find out what this new moonshell has to offer and im also excited that its being worked on once again! thats all... although im not a real fan of the disk check thing... so what some files may say they are 10kb and be 11... is that a good reason for my app to freeze? really... whats up with disk checks...
     
  14. Problematique

    Banned Problematique Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    New Zealand
    HE'S curious just cause its a beta doesn't stop him from having a try
    your like a little kid that doesn't want to try carrots where he dose [​IMG]
     
  15. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh that should read 'Embolden' btw as that's what you do Embolden text!

    The word 'bolded' does not exist in the Websters/Oxford dictionary!

    Like I care that you can use BOLD! and choice of quick change text color when you slag me off that's very mature for you!....now go have a cookie!

    Just so you ALL know I haven't wasted my life on the Internet its how I make my living and its pretty damn good money! so its not wasted really is it!

    The forums I do as a hobby!


    I'm here to give advice however its written and If you don't like how its written then go complain/bitch somewhere else!

    If you bothered to read my posts on the rest of this forum after this thread I went on to answer reaper00004 posts several times more with useful information to resolve his issues!


    Now lets get back on topic and stop bitching me off!
     
  16. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Please people, behave!
    kobykaan just posted his opinion, and he helped, now you all derailed thread, get back on Moonshell discussion, stop talking about spelling!
     
  17. Sarvesh50

    Member Sarvesh50 Aye!

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This really confusing because i have an dstt and a slot 2 ezflash 3 in 1 and i read you can acces the ram in the slot 2 too so do i need too use a patch or what?
     
  18. m-p{3}

    Member m-p{3} GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Montreal QC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't have my Nintendo DS at hand right now. Would there be someone kind enough to post some screenies of the new version? [​IMG]
     
  19. chall32

    Newcomer chall32 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here you go: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=126636

    Chris
     
  20. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Just so we're clear, Internet is a proper noun, and is rightly capitalised; at least check Wikipedia or something before you try to look smart.
     

Share This Page