Moonshell 2 help for Acekard 2i running AKAIO

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by nintendojack, Sep 23, 2010.

Sep 23, 2010
  1. nintendojack
    OP

    Newcomer nintendojack Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Free Country USA
    Country:
    United States
    I am that noob that bought an Acekard 2i to say, "I have all DS Games from and around the world" and has little knowelge about hacking but some tech knowelge. So here I am at Flashcart ER! Anyway after using Moonshell 1.71 (from the acekard site) for my entire life I read that was a Moonshell 2 and wanted it badly. So like any noob I went to file trip and downloaded it and ran the setup and all was good, I boot up AKAIO on a DS blucky (I misplaced DSi) and ran the first NDS file, error... second file, error and so on. When I plug it back itno my pc it deleted most of the Mooonshell files off of my Aceard! So anyway can anybody help me, I'll read again in 22hrs.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    If you mean there's an error when it first starts up (Pink background with red and black texts) you can ignore it if it goes away.

    If it's something else, then
    1). Back up your games and stuff.
    2). Wipe your card clean
    3). Grab AKAIO+Loader: http://www.akaio.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=557
    4). Grab Moonshell2 ZIP http://home.att.ne.jp/blue/moonlight
    5). Put AKAIO on your card as normal (and copy the updated loader)
    6). Extract the Moonshl2 folder and Moonshl2.nds to the root of your card.
    7). Copy back your games.


    Moonshell MAY launch in Japanese.
    If you're at a screen with 5 entries and 3 headings at the top, scroll down to the Language Select Tool.
    If you're at a mostly empty screen press the R button, then scroll down to the Language Select Tool.
    If you're at a file browser, press Select then A, then scroll down to the Language Select Tool.
    English is 000, you may have to scroll up to get to it.
     
  3. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Alternatively, follow Twiztidsinz steps until step 6 and then:
    6. Use the setup.exe
    7. Use the languageselect.exe
    8. Test to see if it loads (use Xenon++'s alternative loader).
    9. If error occurs and it is DEFINITELY frozen, then you will need to check your microSD (make sure you reformatted it correctly using the SD formatter...and maybe check your files to make sure they aren't corrupted).
    10. *Optional* Go into the moonshl2.ini and find the line "AlwaysDisabledDiskCheck=0" and of course set it to "1".
    11. Test again (will probably work...)

    Xenon++'s alternative loader is available here:
    http://gbatemp.net/t210831-moonshell-simply
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    He was having problems with the setup.
    The EXE package is just a self-extracting archive, so I have to assume that the problem is with the Moonshell setup.exe (I tried it once and it didn't go too well, so I've always stayed away from it).

    But yeah, good advice. [​IMG]
     
  5. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Well, all the setup.exe really does is allow you to choose whether you want certain things or not (japanese font/korean font/chinese font/etc.), but apart from that I don't see it being any different from a direct copy/paste from one spot to another.
     
  6. nintendojack
    OP

    Newcomer nintendojack Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Free Country USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you guys for the tips, I'll try em' and get back to ya!
     
  7. nintendojack
    OP

    Newcomer nintendojack Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Free Country USA
    Country:
    United States
    Thank You Both! I guess my SD card just needed a good formatting! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page