1. rock88

    OP rock88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Russia
    [​IMG]

    Why this port for Lakka Switch?
    Currently not possible create a normal port for Horizon OS (ffmpeg lib without hardware acceleration, enet lib don't work properly, etc..), so I'm starting porting Moonlight to RetroArch as libretro core.
    Also Moonlight port available for L4T Ubuntu, but use desktop OS on Switch is very confused for me. Android has issue with Wi-Fi, so it also unusable for me.

    Features:
    1. Stable framerate at 720p/1080p resolution and 30/60fps (bitrate setting included);
    2. Good sound;
    3. UI similar to Moonlight PC;
    4. Maybe some else? xD
    Installing (Nintendo Switch)
    1. Install Lakka
    2. Download latest Moonlight-libretro release
    3. Put moonlight_libretro.so to lakka/storage/cores directory on your SD card (create dir if it not exist).
    4. Choose Load Core and select moonlight_libretro.so, then push Start Core.
    Controls (Nintendo Switch)
    1. Move cursor with move finger on touch screen
    2. L/R + tap on screen - Left/Right mouse click (allow to move cursor)
    3. ZL/ZR + tap on screen - Left/Right mouse click (without move cursor)
    4. L+R+Down - exit from stream (and close current app)
    5. L+R+Up - exit from stream (without closing current app)
    6. L+R+Left - sent Alt+Enter to host (for enable/disable fullscreen mode)
    Sources:
    https://github.com/rock88/moonlight-libretro
     
    lordelan, urherenow, Ninn and 9 others like this.
  2. Broduskii

    Broduskii GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome!
     
  3. blaww

    blaww Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I do load core, start core and get "failed to load content." Anything I'm missing?
     
  4. rock88

    OP rock88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Russia
    Try to change video driver to gl or glcore and restart RetroArch (Moonlight-libretro used glcore driver and can switch to it from gl, but not from vulkan).
     
    blaww likes this.
  5. snoofly

    snoofly GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do you enter a zero when adding host IP address?
     
  6. Empty02

    Empty02 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Germany
    it loads endless, if i enter host ip
     
  7. rock88

    OP rock88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Russia
    Seems I just forgot adding zero button, added in latest release.

    You connect your Switch to the network? And this network is the same as on your PC?
     
    lordelan likes this.
  8. snoofly

    snoofly GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome.
    Playing Sekiro on my Switch out in the garden lol.
     
    Rahkeesh likes this.
  9. blaww

    blaww Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Working great now, hardly any lag from what I can tell. I think I'm finally about to make some progress on my Steam library thanks to this

    Edit- When I'm running emulators in fullscreen, pressing start puts me back in windowed mode, like it's acting as the ESC key. It's only for emulators like RPCS3, Dolphin and regular Windows programs though, no problems in actual PC games. I have this same problem with SkyNX as well
     
    Last edited by blaww, May 8, 2020
  10. mrcroket

    mrcroket Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Spain
    Works great! thanks you so much! There are some things that can be improves to be perfect,

    - Colors look washes, blacks looks greys.
    - Will be great if you can add a no skip frames option for perfect smooth 60fps.
    - Greater bandwitch limit (why 30mb?)
    - Rumble for joycon
    - H.265 codec

    sorry if I'm pedantic :P
     
    Last edited by mrcroket, May 8, 2020
  11. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    I know very little about this so excuse my ignorance but do you have to have a Nvidia computer for this to work or any computer will work?
     
  12. rock88

    OP rock88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Russia
    I'm also use rpcs3 in fullscreen mode and PLUS(start) key work properly, may be you has software for remap gamepad keys or you map start key on rpcs3 settings?

    I'll check color transform, may be some wrong, but for me it's okay :lol:
    Firstly I want to add some usage statistic (network latency, how much frames decode and drawn at second, etc), because I think has problem with sync frames from decoder and render.
    No problem to increase limit, but for me, if I set value over 6-7Mbps, appear grey laggy frames, though I use 5Ghz Wi-Fi channel.
    If RetroArch for Lakka Switch support rumble, I'll add it))
    H265 currently supported, but may be needs setup a stream with some specific configs.

    Nvidia GameStream software support only Nvidia GPU. I'm not sure, but may be with this software - https://github.com/loki-47-6F-64/sunshine you can run a stream on a non Nvidia GPU.
     
    mrcroket likes this.
  13. blaww

    blaww Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Steam was running in the background and was loading a controller profile. Everything's working great now, thanks for your work so far!
     
  14. snoofly

    snoofly GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i’m gonna be all over this. sekiro worked really good but it’s mainly a solution to running dolphin for me

    great job
     
  15. rock88

    OP rock88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Russia
    New update here:
    • Support H265 video codec (Change in Settings);
    • Increase bitrate limit up to 150 Mbps;
    • Fix incorrect color tranform;
    • Add new shortcut for ESC key - L+R+Right.
    Also I checked rumble - it doesn't work :sad:
     
    Broduskii, Rahkeesh and mrcroket like this.
  16. mrcroket

    mrcroket Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Spain
    Wow that was fast!

    :bow::bow:
     
  17. mss1988

    mss1988 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    France
    Awesome job man :)

    My only concern is that it uses CPU video decoding instead of NVDEC.

    To be honest, I'm not even sure that using NVDEC under Lakka is possible at all (at least at the moment).
    I know that Moonlight on Android (switchroot) uses NVDEC though.

    Maybe @natinusala could provide us a bit of info on that? :)
     
  18. rock88

    OP rock88 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Russia
    @mss1988, you are right, I checked - currently it's used software decoding :sad: I'll try to use hardware decoding over VDPAU, but no sure about NVDEC.
     
    mss1988 likes this.
  19. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,537
    Country:
    United States
    This is really cool. I set 720p/60 fps and 16.5 mb/s and got some bad blocking and flashes of grey screens. These were 100% fixed by raising CPU overclock to boost (1200ish). Games look and sound beautiful and input lag is truly minimal.

    A little inconvenient launching lakka but the results are excellent. I hope one day it can come to horizon.
     
  20. CampofMusic

    CampofMusic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Israel
    tried it games not opening at all, says:
    "Cannot Configure Streamer."
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Moonlight, libretro, Switch