Homebrew RELEASE Moonlight-libretro core for Lakka Switch

mrcroket

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2018
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,100
Country
Spain
@mss1988, you are right, I checked - currently it's used software decoding :sad: I'll try to use hardware decoding over VDPAU, but no sure about NVDEC.
Maybe software render
This is really cool. I set 720p/60 fps and 16.5 mb/s and got some bad blocking and flashes of grey screens. These were 100% fixed by raising CPU overclock to boost (1200ish). Games look and sound beautiful and input lag is truly minimal.

A little inconvenient launching lakka but the results are excellent. I hope one day it can come to horizon.
That explain why on the same wifi I can push more the bandwith that my brother on his switch, I have the cpu clock at 1785mhz on lakka. So if gpu acceleration solution it's possible then maybe we can push the bandwitch even more without cpu overclock
 

MichaelShawJr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
198
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
646
Country
United States
For some reason, my controls are not working.I can't scroll to select a game or anything. The only thing that works is the touch screen to select a game, but when I touch one of the games, it just loads my desktop and doesn't launch the game.
 

Alvsar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
305
Country
United Kingdom
Does moonlight in lakka work better than Skynx in Horizon OS? In Skynx, even if the program says 60fps, in Switch I only get 30fps (pretty noticeable).
Is the same with Moonlight in Lakka? For some reason Lakka is not launching for me anymore
 

mss1988

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 25, 2018
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
726
Country
France
Does moonlight in lakka work better than Skynx in Horizon OS? In Skynx, even if the program says 60fps, in Switch I only get 30fps (pretty noticeable).
Is the same with Moonlight in Lakka? For some reason Lakka is not launching for me anymore

Idk for SkyNX, so far (unfortunately) it works the best under Android.
 

rock88

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
879
Country
Russia
Is it possible to use the Joy-Cons as a controller without being in a game first?
RetroArch has core named Remote RetroPad, but (I think) it works only with remote RetroArch.
Moonlight-libretro should run app for setup remote connection and handle input, but I can add feature for disable audio/video, and just use Switch as a remote gamepad.
Also you can add some unused app (like a default File Explorer) in GF Experience stream settings, for start stream, then close this app and run any other app that you prefer.
 

Kotomine Kirei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
315
Trophies
0
XP
357
Country
United States
RetroArch has core named Remote RetroPad, but (I think) it works only with remote RetroArch.
Moonlight-libretro should run app for setup remote connection and handle input, but I can add feature for disable audio/video, and just use Switch as a remote gamepad.
Also you can add some unused app (like a default File Explorer) in GF Experience stream settings, for start stream, then close this app and run any other app that you prefer.

I actually meant that I wanted the computer to recognize that the Joy-Cons were controllers all of the time (instead of using them for mouse clicking), even if you use an app to go to desktop.
I still want the audio and video to be on the Switch's screen.
When I start a controller mapping program, the Joy-Cons do not appear.

I am sorry for not being more clear, but I do not know how to explain this better.
 
Last edited by Kotomine Kirei,

rock88

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
879
Country
Russia
When I start a controller mapping program, the Joy-Cons do not appear.
Joy-Cons not appear because Nvidia stream app create and use emulated XInput gamepad (like a X360 controller). I checked that in online gamepad tester app (just google some like 'xinput gamepad test online'), and all works.
 

Kotomine Kirei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
315
Trophies
0
XP
357
Country
United States
Joy-Cons not appear because Nvidia stream app create and use emulated XInput gamepad (like a X360 controller). I checked that in online gamepad tester app (just google some like 'xinput gamepad test online'), and all works.

When I went to the online gamepad testers, they said that there was no controller connected.
I guess that there must be a problem with my Joy-Cons or something, but I am not sure what is wrong.
The mouse movement (touchscreen), clicking (L/R/ZL/ZR) and other functions work fine.
 

rock88

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
879
Country
Russia
When I went to the online gamepad testers, they said that there was no controller connected.
I guess that there must be a problem with my Joy-Cons or something, but I am not sure what is wrong.
The mouse movement (touchscreen), clicking (L/R/ZL/ZR) and other functions work fine.
May be on your PC installed some gamepad software which conflicted with Nvidia GameStream? Also check this thread - https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforc.../no-gamepad-input-working-through-gamestream/.

I saw that moonlight on L4T Ubuntu now support hardware acceleration decoding, maybe this can be useful to look how it's implemented?
I look at it about last few days, and started refactoring current stream related sources for use with VDPAU :)
 

rock88

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
879
Country
Russia
Okay, I'll check VDPAU support and it doesn't work :(

Code:
Lakka:~ # vdpauinfo
display: :0.0   screen: 0
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Error creating VDPAU device: 1

Seems like just need set correct libvdpau_xxx.so lib, I found few (libvdpau_nouveau.so.1 and libvdpau_tegra.so.1) in toolchain dir, and try to use:

Code:
Lakka:~ # export VDPAU_DRIVER=tegra
Lakka:~ # export VDPAU_DRIVER_PATH=/storage/cores
Lakka:~ # vdpauinfo
display: :0.0   screen: 0
Error creating VDPAU device: 23

Also doesn't work and I don't know why(( May be Lakka-Switch incorrect initializing video driver, incorrect libvdpau_nouveau/libvdpau_tegra or some else...

Anyway I released 1.0.3 update:
Latest FFMPEG lib (grab moonlight_libretro_latest_ffmpeg.zip, I don't know about speedup, see decode stats...);
Settings for select number of threads using for decode a video frame;
Show video decoder/render stats, by pressing ZL+ZR+Left, ZL+ZR+Right for hide.

After this I want to make port on a Horizon OS :)
 

mrcroket

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2018
Messages
117
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,100
Country
Spain
Okay, I'll check VDPAU support and it doesn't work :(

Code:
Lakka:~ # vdpauinfo
display: :0.0   screen: 0
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Error creating VDPAU device: 1

Seems like just need set correct libvdpau_xxx.so lib, I found few (libvdpau_nouveau.so.1 and libvdpau_tegra.so.1) in toolchain dir, and try to use:

Code:
Lakka:~ # export VDPAU_DRIVER=tegra
Lakka:~ # export VDPAU_DRIVER_PATH=/storage/cores
Lakka:~ # vdpauinfo
display: :0.0   screen: 0
Error creating VDPAU device: 23

Also doesn't work and I don't know why(( May be Lakka-Switch incorrect initializing video driver, incorrect libvdpau_nouveau/libvdpau_tegra or some else...

Anyway I released 1.0.3 update:
Latest FFMPEG lib (grab moonlight_libretro_latest_ffmpeg.zip, I don't know about speedup, see decode stats...);
Settings for select number of threads using for decode a video frame;
Show video decoder/render stats, by pressing ZL+ZR+Left, ZL+ZR+Right for hide.

After this I want to make port on a Horizon OS :)

If hardware decoding it's not possible then a horizon os version will be great! No need to launch lakka and the same performance that actual lakka version after all.

Thank you so much for your effort!
 
  • Like
Reactions: rock88

Imancol

Otak Productions
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
1,153
Trophies
0
XP
1,728
Country
Colombia
I saw that you made Fork to the Lakka-Switch repo and it has added several improvements and Core of the source repository. Are you planning to make some corrections? Can it be compiled?
 
  • Like
Reactions: klear and Broduskii

rock88

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
879
Country
Russia
I saw that you made Fork to the Lakka-Switch repo and it has added several improvements and Core of the source repository. Are you planning to make some corrections? Can it be compiled?
I just merged last official repo to lakka-switch, but after that I had tons of conflicts, which I not resolve properly. So currently it is not compiled :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: klear and Imancol

spotanjo3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
10,927
Trophies
1
XP
5,287
Country
United States
PC streaming, the same as the last homebrew that 'doesnt do anything for you'.

I feel stupid but what is PC streaming ? You run PC games from PC and stream to your Nintendo Switch ? Or you are able to run PC games onto your Switch like PC but use Moonlight ?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    everytime someone says a celeste level was so hard that they had to turn on assist mode my ego goes up a bit
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    does anyone here have gbatemp
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    I don't understand the question. "Have"? as in, owning the the website?
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I have gbatemp
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    now you can rep this site wherever you go!
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Have been for the past 5+ years ;)
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    also holy shit i realized you can click the @ next to names in chat to tag users, how did i not notice this before
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    me when someone asks me who made the song "Runaway"
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Anybody here got a GDEMU?
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I got a (presumed) clone from Aliexpress, but haven't installed yet
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    I've got a clone, it works fine, but I can't get it to play nice with my SDcard reader.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    like an sd card slot extension thing?
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Yeah, to load from (and save data to) an SD card plugged into the serial port.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    You test that extension thing through a regular usb reader on your pc? Could just be a shit one. Bought one for my 3d printer and it just straight up doesn't work
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    it can't be plugged into a USB reader (it's made from a regular SD card to USB adapter, but with the USB end modded to a Dreamcast serial plug)
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    It was working fine before I installed the GDEMU, but now the Dreamcast doesn't recognize it when I boot up Dreamshell.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhh I gotcha. yeah haven't looked at it that much so I'm not super familiar with the hardware
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Can't find any threads about this particular issue on GBAtemp or the wider intarwebz. Saw one video on YouTube that seemed relevant, but it was some dude with the same issue, no solutions offered in the comments. :/
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    my teacher was showing me something and i noticed they had gbatemp open in another window
    Gift
  • SpazzyShinobi @ SpazzyShinobi:
    when worlds collide
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Your teacher is ONE OF US... ONE OF US...
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they could be in this very chat, they could be any one of us
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow."
    +1
    Gift
    MightyJAK @ MightyJAK: InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow." +1