ModMii for Windows Official Support Topic

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by XFlak, Feb 3, 2010.

?

Did ModMii work for you?

  1. Yes!

    636 vote(s)
    84.4%
  2. No, and I won't report what went wrong because I am a troll

    33 vote(s)
    4.4%
  3. No, and I posted what went wrong

    85 vote(s)
    11.3%
Feb 3, 2010
  1. donowprod

    Newcomer donowprod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    xflak40,

    Count me in. I just PM'D you....
     


  2. Wack0

    Member Wack0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice batch coding.
    The basis of this is nusd (command line version) by wiiNinja and WB3000, NusFoldersRenamer by Erik Spyder and this code (just c/p'd from 4.2U, which you can change for your needs):
    Code:
    echo Downloading System Menu 4.2U
    nusd 0000000100000002 481
    move 0000000100000002000000100000002.wad Copy_To_SD\WAD\4.2U_Systemmenu_v481.wad
    ren 0000000100000002 0000000100000002v481
    NusFoldersRenamer.exe
    rd /s /q 0000000100000002v481
    No need to use the program in your guide, just make your own .. but if you only need the wad, miss out the rename and the NusFoldersRenamer, and change the rd command. Ofcourse move it into the place & as the file that would be needed.
     
  3. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Wack0, yea its definitely not hard to make your own, and any1 should feel free to do so if they like.

    But v2 goes above and beyond version 1, a lot more features, so I would encourage anyone to try out v2 (once its released... shortly) before deciding to make their own (but in the end if thats what u want to do, then by all means)

    also, to anyone wanting to see the code in its entirety, just download the package and rename the *.bin file to *.txt and view it in notepad.
     
  4. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this offer still open, if so ill test this as i way to dump each SM to separate cards to find my true love(SM that is) lol, if not im happy with V1
     
  5. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Sent u a PM w/ it. Cheers!
     
  6. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Version 2 is here! A lot of new features, I didn't bother with a changelog, just check out the updated video in the first post!
     
  7. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks man! I love hearing feedback like that!

    FYI, since the last beta I sent you I added an upside-down HBC fix and no vulnerable IOS solution, i decided to add those last second [​IMG]

    also, I added a couple funny Easter eggs to the main menu, happy hunting [​IMG]
     
  8. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    fyi, I'm open to hear any comments or suggestions, I probably won't make version 3 for a few months, but feel free to give me ideas
     
  9. tylerzentz

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Batch commands! Let teh n00bz rejoice!
     
  10. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    "This can automatically download all the files you need to install your choice of system menu 4.2 (U/E/J/K), 4.1 (U/E/J/K) or 3.2 (U/E/J)."



    I have Priiloader v0_3b and bootmii installed as well as a NAND backup, can I switch to 4.2U system menu and change back to 3.2U if I want to in case I don't like 4.2U?
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just noticed why did you miss out 4.0 for all regions??
     
  12. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    there's no point to being on 4.0

    4.1 is better in everyway, and I would never recommend any1 ever being on 4.0

    i'm even on 4.2, and it works perfectly...

    besides, if u really want to download 4.0 system menu, u can go to user-defined custom download (advanced), select "SM" for system menu, then just type in the version # you want (3 digits)... or u can just use nus downloader, lol
     
  13. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Country:
    Sweden
    You sexy sob. This software is so going down on my PC [​IMG]
     
  14. gogorman

    Newcomer gogorman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Question.
    I have a fully modded PAL Wii on 4.1. I brought the Wii to the USA from the UK.
    I had planned to use Any Region Changer to change the region to USA and the System Menu to the USA one.
    Would it be best to do that, then use this to upgrade the 3.2 System menu that Any Region Changer gives you to 4.1?
    Would there be an easier way?
    Also, if I DO use this (and Any region Changer) will my Wii still remain modded? I assume it will as I will not be deleting any IOS's yes? Or will I have to re-mod it by modifying IOS's again?
    Thanks!
     
  15. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    what do u want to region change in the first place? u properly modded wii can play games of all regions... so what would be the point?

    this wont touch your cios's (unless u stupidly install a stub IOS), so by using this program to update, you will leave your cios's intact
     
  16. gogorman

    Newcomer gogorman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply.
    The reason i wanted to change the region is because others in my family use the channels that come with the Wii - particularly the Weather Channel.
    The Weather Channel does not work properly as you can't change the default city etc. to one in the USA - only European ones.
    I know the Wii will handle any region games, those are not a problem.
    Just the Weather Channel really.
     
  17. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Personally I've never even tried to region change, it should be safe but i'm not 100%.... but in your case, what I would do is create an Opera Internet forwarder channel (like the ones HERE), and have it set up to take u directly to your fav weather website for your region... but that would mean u still wouldn't have the forecast channel... so its up to you, just make sure to do your research before region changing (unless u have bootmii as boot2 w/ nand back up, then go nuts)
     
  18. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States


    so can I switch back and forth the system menu? thanks
     
  19. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Country:
    Sweden
    Just make sure you have a Working NAND backup and Bootmii as boot2, then mess along and the worst case if you fuck up, just restore and play again.
     
  20. XFlak
    OP

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    its pretty safe to do even if u don't have bootmii as boot2 (only risk is losing power or if u are installing files off of a shitty USB and it goes to sleep at the wrong time), just make sure u install the system menu IOS, THEN the system menu itself... and remember, reinstalling the system menu effectively uninstalls priiloader, so you should reinstall it right away especially if u only have bootmii as IOS
     

Share This Page