MicroSD Compat?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by CrEsPo, Jan 9, 2007.

Jan 9, 2007

MicroSD Compat? by CrEsPo at 4:59 AM (1,182 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    I ordered one Kingston 1 GB MicroSD card and one Corsair 1 GB SD card. I plan to use one for games and the other for mp3/media. Which one has the best compatibility for games?

    Thanks [​IMG].
     
  2. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston hands down. Best performance and Corsair isnt exactly a best brand.
     
  3. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply, that's what I was thinking because a lot of topics were about the Kingston card. Is there a major difference between the Japan version and the Taiwan version? I'm not sure which one I have.
     
  4. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know about the differences. I DO know that they use Toshiba hardware. I have a 1GB MicroSD made in China and its 5/5 on the M3L tests.
     
  5. Kilko

    Newcomer Kilko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    I've got Twinmos 1 GB MicroSD and it works great. It has really quick transferring speeds too! [​IMG]
     
  6. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the replies [​IMG].
     
  7. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is for computer RAM =]

    RE japanese/taiwan kingston ... there are reports floating around forums that japanese version has slightly less compatability issues with troublesome games (Castlevania). Personally I have the japanese card and don't play castlevania, so I'm not bothered
     
  8. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States


    My Kingston is from China. Bought it from Frys electronics... [​IMG]

    And yes, Corsair RAM is good for computers [​IMG]
     
  9. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmph, I thought they only made the microSDs in Taiwan or Japan? Oh well, at least it works eh? =]
     
  10. DkInc

    Newcomer DkInc Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Have a Sandisk Ultra II 1 GB microSD (Taiwan), works fine, hasn't crashed on CV:POR on me yet. Also, two friends with Kingston 1 GB microSD on Lites, work fine. The format (FAT16 or FAT32) tends to make a difference, and whether the disk is not fragmented makes a *really* big difference. If you have a tendency of moving on and removing games often, probably a good idea to move everything off the unit, them move everything back on just to make sure they're all contiguous.

    PS: Corsair makes awful RAM. It doesn't work to spec (usually needs more voltage) and it comes back WAY more often than either Kingston or Crucial (each of these sell way more than Corsair) at the store that I work.
     

Share This Page