Microphones only work on certain games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by AdamBrunt, Apr 1, 2012.

Apr 1, 2012
  1. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Hi all,

    Anyone got any ideas about this ?

    We have microphones bought off eBay which work fine when used with Disney HSM Sing It (loaded via CFG loader and using IOS 222-mload). But the same mics aren't recognised by U Sing (using the same method; CFG and IOS 222-mload).

    Any ideas anyone ?

    Regards,

    Adam Brunt
     
  2. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on the manufacturer. There are a lot of non-oem (original equp manufacturer) made in china for a lot less that are not 100% compatible. This is true for many electronic and tech tools. Can be a great deal and work great in some cases, limited functionality, quality and may even damage and/or void warranty. Logitech is the go-to mic. device for most games.
     
  3. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    thanks wii knee. shame

    You'd have thought if a mic worked for one game it would work for them all :(
     
  4. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry AdamBrunt. Probably set you back 10-20 bucks. Could've been worst but just keep it mind for future electronic equip purchases. Also beware b/c many ebay sellers say "OEM replacement" or "OEM compatible" which is not the same as just "OEM"!
     
  5. miguelbolas

    Newcomer miguelbolas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Portugal
    Try another cios.
    I think this game use cios with base 57.
    Like cios 224 base 57 v5.1 or 250 base 57 d2x v9 r47.
    I have U sing2 and works fine with cios 224 base 57 v5.1.
     
  6. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Not really - as we need replacement mics anyway. I don't think we'd ever tried any mic with U Sing before the this.

    I'll give it a try. Is there any way I can find out which cIOS are currently installed and on which bases (if that makes sense) ?
     
  7. Fyrus

    Member Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    You can use System Check for this : http://wiibrew.org/wiki/SysCheckGX
     
  8. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Thanks. I will give that a run when I get home.
     
  9. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    in cfg loader just press 1 i think it is and go to info it will tell you the ios installed and their bases
     
  10. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Hmmm ... according to CFG loader, I don't have 224 installed at all and 250 is base 38 ???

    Installed both of those via ModMii and everything seemed to have installed fine. CFGloader now says they're both installed but has ??? next to each one and ... the mics don't work when using either :(
     
  11. miguelbolas

    Newcomer miguelbolas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Portugal
    You should start the game with IOS224, to do this press 1 if you have the game selected, change the IOS and press 2 to save the setting. Then the game should work fine.
     
  12. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Tried that made no difference but ... oddly all the games (Disney Sing It, We Sing, We Sing Encore and U Sing) work on 222-mload when only Disney Sing It worked before. Very bizarre
     
  13. miguelbolas

    Newcomer miguelbolas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Portugal
    You must have the mics plugged the wii before turning on the console.
    This way it will be recognized by the wii.
    Don't forget to choose the cios indicated for each game.
     
  14. diddy81

    Member diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i love it when people say you need to use 224 or 250
    the problem with comments like that is what you have and what i have in those IOS slots could be completely different

    the mic games i have work on 223 mload in cfg the cios in that slot has a ios 37 base thats as much as i know about that

    this is bull works fine on mine when ever i plug the mics in
     

Share This Page