Mercenaries is the one that's really pushing 3DS hardware-wise

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Ladies and gentlemen enjoy your Iwata asks! Yes that info is on the second page. I'm kinda surprise that's it's Mercenaries, really thought Revelation was the one pushing the 3DS to its limits cuz that looks damn more impressive visually.

I'm no expert but I'm guessing Mercs has more enemies on screen and uses the same engine as Revelations, plus the game doesn't look half bad either.

heartgold

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Ladies and gentlemen enjoy your Iwata asks! Yes that info is on the second page. I'm kinda surprise that's it's Mercenaries, really thought Revelation was the one pushing the 3DS to its limits cuz that looks damn more impressive visually.

I'm no expert but I'm guessing Mercs has more enemies on screen and uses the same engine as Revelations, plus the game doesn't look half bad either.
Absolutely. That makes total sense.

D

Deleted_171835

Haha, whatever. Mercenaries doesn't look that good. Revelations is miles better.

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Enemies from a distance look like ugly 2D pre-renders to me on Mercs.

Does the game slow down if enemies are closer? I think the "2D pre-renders" are in part due to the crappy 3DS resolution. I remember reading a MGS3D preview that complained about enemies being hardly visible from a difference due to the resolution.

I mean I haven't played either so I'm just shooting blind here. Obviously Revelations looks better but if it contains more closed off environments (meaning less area to render) and less enemies (meaning less objects on screen) then Mercs 3D could be the more technically "impressive" title.

D

Deleted_171835

Enemies from a distance look like ugly 2D pre-renders to me on Mercs.