1. Syynx

    Syynx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Any idea what it could be on my end? My file structure looks like this

    \switch\melonds\bios7.bin
    \switch\melonds\bios9.bin
    \switch\melonds\firmware.bin
    \switch\melonds\romlist.bin
    \switch\melonds\melonds.nro
    \roms\Nintendo DS\Rhythm Heaven.nds


    I've fully deleted and reinstalled all melonds files as well as cfw files to no avail. Only system module I'm using is sys-clk
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
  2. crazy_p

    crazy_p GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Change your Folder Structure to:

    \melonds\bios7.bin
    \melonds\bios9.bin
    \melonds\firmware.bin
    \melonds\romlist.bin
    \switch\melonds\melonds.nro
    \roms\DS\Rhythm Heaven.nds
     
    Ka_Ninja likes this.
  3. Syynx

    Syynx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Now I cant launch the game because bios files are missing
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
  4. crazy_p

    crazy_p GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Download this Release and read the Posts below:
    melonDS for Switch
     
  5. Syynx

    Syynx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    omg that was it. thank you so much!
     
  6. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Germany
    quick update on the microphone issue:
    this turned out to be more complex than expected. At the beginning of the last week I first tried a few wave patterns other than white noise (nothing fancy, I know basically nothing about audio engineering), which all too didn't work. I had the idea too record a blow sound on the a real DS, but I couldn't find my 3DS anywhere until yesterday. And guess what, that worked (atleast in Mario Kart). Though probably any sound which completely pegs the volume would probably have worked, this one is "authentic" (granted, a original DS would be better:)). I'll embed this file for the next release.
     
  7. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    9,575
    Country:
    Mexico
    Excuse me for intruding, but do you happen to know why saves stored in flashcards tend to not be recognized by melonDS?
    I tried migrating all of my flashcard saves into melonDS, and I found that it doesn't recognize them at all, it simply starts the games as if no save was previously done.
     
  8. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,481
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    whoo cant wait I still havent got past the Bowser fight I was on before :P
    iirc Switch melonds sav needs to have to have the full rom name. eg.. "Bowsers Inside Story.nds.sav"
     
    ShadowOne333 and KiiWii like this.
  9. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    9,575
    Country:
    Mexico
    What about melonDS on RetroArch?
    I tried there but still the games don't recognize the save from flashcards.
     
  10. ploggy

    ploggy WAKA! WAKA!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,481
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    O? it does it on Retroarch too? I'm not sure then. I had issues getting my Switch melonds saves to load on Pc melonds until I realised about the naming thing :P
     
  11. catlover007

    catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    Germany
    you're right, it was easier to implement this way haha
    I think the size of the savefiles matters, make sure the save file has the same size one created by melonDS itself (if it's longer, that should be padding which can be cut off with a hex editor).
     
  12. xbmcuser

    xbmcuser GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @catlover007 Can I request full screenimplementation both vertical and horizontol mode.

    Also iss there a button that will flip between top and bottom screens.
     
  13. xbmcuser

    xbmcuser GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dupe
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2019
  14. kongsnutz

    kongsnutz WOT?!?
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Country:
    United States
    @catlover007 Just a small thing I noticed just now. Stereo sound isn't accurate or working.
    Pokemon HeartGold with stereo sound on by default i can't hear any wild pokemon cries or attacks against them.
    Switching to Mono option worked.
     
  15. Syynx

    Syynx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Could I request a small feature? Could you make pressing somewhere (like on the non touch screen for example) open up the menu? Currently playing DS games without the joycons attached and it would make switching games/exiting much easier

    Thank you so much for this btw, the emulator runs amazingly!
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2019
  16. shideravan

    shideravan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Brazil
    Any update after this?
     
  17. lisko

    lisko Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Very good work thank you. Would be nice to be able to load a rom or close the emulator using joycons so I don't have to undock, load a game, dock, play, undock, close, dock again... And for me un/docking isn't even easy. Keep up.
     
  18. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    United States
    is there any chance to add GBA roms to GBA slot??
     
  19. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,139
    Country:
    United States
    And it will be nice to have a cool gui looking instead of this ugly black things. :)
     
  20. RinkuSonic41

    RinkuSonic41 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Italy
    Why would you do that? I mean, if you, for example, wanted to transfer pokemon to one save to another you could simply use PKHex. There are already good GBA emulators on switch, I prefer MGBA on Retroarch
     
    FanNintendo likes this.
  21. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    653
    Country:
    United States
    I dont see why not Yeah if @catlover007 doesn't want do gba slot porting including melonds that's fine I still love the standalone melonds it make u feel more u are playing DS with Flip Grip
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - melonDS, Switch,