Make PC Game run faster/smoother?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by saison, Jan 31, 2010.

Jan 31, 2010
  1. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I have a few questions.

    1. What are the settings that would make it run fastest?

    2. What are ways I could improve it's speed? I really wanna play, I've beaten it once on that computer, but with lag and it gave me a headache constantly.

    3. My systems specs are:
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600)
    System Model: Dimension 2400
    Processor: Intel Celeron CPU 2.40GHz
    Memory: 2046MB RAM
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c
    Graphics Card: Intel 82848G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
    Sound Card: SoundMAX Digital Audio

    Also, don't ask me to use the Can I Run it? Website. I don't have internet on my computer, I'm typing this on my crap laptop.

    I'd appreciate the help, and thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    My guess would be to do whatever you can to lower the screen resolution/graphics quality of the game, and don't use shadows and/or anti-aliasing (if you can help it, some games aren't playable without some form of it) if at all possible. Also, lower the lighting quality, and reflections (if applicable) should be lowered or disabled.
     
  3. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, all that has been done currently before I posted this.
     
  4. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Disable sound and/or music? Erm... increase your system's page file? Close some other background applications?
     
  5. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Buy a graphics card.
     
  6. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Should've mentioned free. I also did all that, Skyline and it didn't change anything.

    I would have a graphics card, but I'm planning on using my money for a PS3.
     
  7. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Hate to say it, but there's not much else you can do other than the stuff I specified. The rest is just getting better hardware.
     
  8. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    So there's no program I could use or nothing? Besides overclocking.
     
  9. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    If anything at all running a program would only slow things down. It doesn't really work like that. Unless you tone down your graphics settings. Such as resolution and quality to the lowest. Other than that, the only thing you can do is buy a new computer.
     
  10. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Buying a new computer is a bit drastic, but yeah, I know I need to upgrade. Just ain't in the area to afford it right now.
     
  11. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    theres nothing you can do

    the whole system is outdated
    buying new hardware (like a gfx card) would make it being held back from its full potential by the rest of the hardware

    overclocking isnt an option
    your computer is locked from making such changes
     
  12. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I guess I'll just have to wait sometime during college.
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,717
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree with the others posting here although I will single out your graphics card- Intel do not make game grade graphics cards and as far as I can see ( http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/SYST...sm_en/specs.htm ) the motherboard does not even support a cheap one (fable is an old game which an older card could run quite happily).

    On the other hand ignore the in game or pre game options and head right to the source- under graphics properties (varies with drivers so I am not about to get specific) there should be options to change what goes with various settings and part of this will include 3d and part of that will include thing likes "let application decide". Tell it there to go for speed and drop everything you can.
     
  14. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    I checked the settings of my graphic card and there wasn't anything I could really configure, and I don't believe mine supports anti-aliasing to whomever mentioned that earlier.

    I did change the game's aspect ratio to 16:9 and that SEEMED to speed it up for a little while, but that's it. Other than that, no other FPS gain.

    Also, I briefly saw these programs, GameGain2 and GameBooster, would those help or not?
     
  15. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    The Celeron cpu is holding you back, as is the gpu. There's really nothing you can do as they're both very weak components.
     
  16. Shakraka

    Member Shakraka GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Country:
    United States
    .
     
    Last edited by Shakraka, Oct 19, 2015
  17. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    i just use apples time machine, to take me to a good performance pc (a mac)
     
  18. saison
    OP

    Member saison GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, so funny. I'm not in a budget to even buy a PC, so there's no way I'd buy a Mac unless I knew that it could play epic games.
     

Share This Page