M3 Simply Micro-SD

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by flai, Aug 19, 2007.

Aug 19, 2007

M3 Simply Micro-SD by flai at 4:51 PM (673 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. flai
    OP

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.mymemory.co.uk/memory/Kingston/...e/Phone/Memory)

    Is it only Japanese Kingstons that run Castlevania DoS intro and PoR without freezing ok? If so how do I tell? I really only want to buy a 2GB card as I have so-far only used 1GB and would like to up the storage a little. Also, I hear alot of R4's spring breaks, is that an issue with the Simply also? Thanks!
     
  2. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it's only the 1GB or 2GB Japanese ones that runs Castlevania: POR without freezing. You won't really be able to tell which store sells Japanese unless you ask them or the store indicates that they're Japan made. Like dealextreme sells Japanese Kingstons only.

    R4 and M3 are basically the same thing so you might end up having a spring problem also. It all depends on how you use the cart. I've been using my R4 for a long time and the spring works just fine without any problems.
     
  3. flai
    OP

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, thanks for the help! Does the CycloDS run it any better?
     
  4. flai
    OP

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I found a site that has an R4 and it says it ships with one of these -

    (Kingston/First Champion/Toshiba/Sandisk/PQI/MSI)

    This is 2GB, do these sound ok to you?
     
  5. strummer12

    Member strummer12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    My Japanese Kingston freezes every now and then in POR. Not enough to break the game tho, but it does do it. Only game I ever had a prob with.
     
  6. Jhongerkong

    Member Jhongerkong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Country:
    Canada
    btw, my lexar 1gb that i got from best buy runs every game, including PoR, perfectly. so its not only teh jap kingstons that run it perfect
     
  7. flai
    OP

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I'm not too bothered about PoR because I've got a G6DS Real as backup for an occurance such as this anyway, I just want to ask if ANY 2GB Kingston, Japanese made or not runs the DoS intro without lag? Thats the only thing that matters so that I know that its not slow as hell.
     

Share This Page