Hacking M3 Sakura

leonie222

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
31
Country
Gambia, The
hello

i wonder why to use the new sakura fw, yes it looks nice but it makes like 2 files for a game i start and things take much longer to load.
are there any really good reasons not to use my regular m3 frimware instead?
 

powered_by_tux

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
167
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
Gambia, The
Sakura is just so much superior to the regular M3 firmware.

If you turn off Disk Check, Sakura will boot as fast (if not faster) than the regular firmware. However, Disk Check itself is a good feature to have as it will warn you before your SD card becomes corrupted. Sakura's graphical interface feels so much more responsive and faster and it also features some nice GUI effects. The stylus usage has improved drastically, the menus are intuitive to use. In fact, Sakura can play and display video, audio, text and pictures without the need for exterior tools, meaning you don't really need Moonshell anymore.

EDIT: How could I forget the launcher menu? It is really nice to have a list of the recently used applications or games. This way, you can play the game you previously played before turning off again with just a single tap.

You can put the Sakura firmware on your SD card and still use the old firmware. Whenever you boot up your DS hold A to choose which firmware you want to use from now on.
wink2.gif
 

Toni Plutonij

*has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
8,147
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Depths of Nuclear powerplant
XP
603
Country
Croatia
Very nice sum up powered_by_tux, I actually don't know what could I add to that!

The only thing that could make you wanna use original firmware, is maybe the fact that only english version of Sakura is a beta (and has some minor minor problems), other than that it's by far superior to Touchpod (original M3 Reals firmware) in terms of functionality AND looks overall..
 

leonie222

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
31
Country
Gambia, The
ok thank you,
its really a nice little thing.

the only thing i have to say, it looks gay.
but using a different skin solves this problem.
 

qwsed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
152
Trophies
0
XP
163
Country
I just have one question. I know that soft reset is there and its working. My only question is: Do i have to enable soft reset for EVERY game or can i set the option on a folder so it works on all the files (like in Acekard 2) or is there an option to enable it on everything?
 

Toni Plutonij

*has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
8,147
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Depths of Nuclear powerplant
XP
603
Country
Croatia
qwsed said:
I just have one question. I know that soft reset is there and its working. My only question is: Do i have to enable soft reset for EVERY game or can i set the option on a folder so it works on all the files (like in Acekard 2) or is there an option to enable it on everything?
No global setting as of now...Which means, you need to set Soft-Reset for every game!
frown.gif
 

hdofu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
USA
Website
www.wikitsune.com
XP
212
Country
United States
outside of loading homebrew or for the included pocket nes/goomba emulators, the current sakura firmware is suppirior in everyway, what do you mean it loads slower, it loads most titles like 3 times as fasts in my experience.
 

saxamo

Spaaaaace!
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
776
Trophies
0
Location
NYC
XP
398
Country
United States
I've been playing mostly homebrew lately and this is why i'm still on touchpod!

That and I'm too lazy to update my card
smile.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
    +1
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Why are republicans so desperate to see Hunter Biden's dick? I don't get it.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    They need to see it to prove he isn't a reptilian
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I thought they were trying to prove that he was a reptilian.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Oh yeah :rofl2: then I have no idea!
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @M4x1mumReZ chill on the likes man 15 different times on my profile
  • Veho @ Veho:
    LET ME LIKE YOU KEN
    Veho @ Veho: LET ME LIKE YOU KEN