M3 Sakura

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by leonie222, Feb 14, 2009.

Feb 14, 2009

M3 Sakura by leonie222 at 10:09 AM (1,620 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. leonie222
    OP

    Newcomer leonie222 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Germany
    hello

    i wonder why to use the new sakura fw, yes it looks nice but it makes like 2 files for a game i start and things take much longer to load.
    are there any really good reasons not to use my regular m3 frimware instead?
     
  2. powered_by_tux

    Member powered_by_tux GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Germany
    Sakura is just so much superior to the regular M3 firmware.

    If you turn off Disk Check, Sakura will boot as fast (if not faster) than the regular firmware. However, Disk Check itself is a good feature to have as it will warn you before your SD card becomes corrupted. Sakura's graphical interface feels so much more responsive and faster and it also features some nice GUI effects. The stylus usage has improved drastically, the menus are intuitive to use. In fact, Sakura can play and display video, audio, text and pictures without the need for exterior tools, meaning you don't really need Moonshell anymore.

    EDIT: How could I forget the launcher menu? It is really nice to have a list of the recently used applications or games. This way, you can play the game you previously played before turning off again with just a single tap.

    You can put the Sakura firmware on your SD card and still use the old firmware. Whenever you boot up your DS hold A to choose which firmware you want to use from now on. [​IMG]
     
  3. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Very nice sum up powered_by_tux, I actually don't know what could I add to that!

    The only thing that could make you wanna use original firmware, is maybe the fact that only english version of Sakura is a beta (and has some minor minor problems), other than that it's by far superior to Touchpod (original M3 Reals firmware) in terms of functionality AND looks overall..
     
  4. leonie222
    OP

    Newcomer leonie222 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Germany
    ok thank you,
    its really a nice little thing.

    the only thing i have to say, it looks gay.
    but using a different skin solves this problem.
     
  5. qwsed

    Member qwsed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    Anguilla
    I just have one question. I know that soft reset is there and its working. My only question is: Do i have to enable soft reset for EVERY game or can i set the option on a folder so it works on all the files (like in Acekard 2) or is there an option to enable it on everything?
     
  6. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    No global setting as of now...Which means, you need to set Soft-Reset for every game! [​IMG]
     
  7. qwsed

    Member qwsed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    Anguilla
    [​IMG]

    I just have to bite the sour apple i guess ^^
     
  8. hdofu

    Member hdofu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    outside of loading homebrew or for the included pocket nes/goomba emulators, the current sakura firmware is suppirior in everyway, what do you mean it loads slower, it loads most titles like 3 times as fasts in my experience.
     
  9. saxamo

    Member saxamo Spaaaaace!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I've been playing mostly homebrew lately and this is why i'm still on touchpod!

    That and I'm too lazy to update my card [​IMG]
     

Share This Page