M3 Real Firmware Upgrade problem

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by JMX322, Dec 12, 2008.

Dec 12, 2008
  1. JMX322
    OP

    Newcomer JMX322 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. As the thread title states, I'm having a bit of an issue when attempting to upgrade my M3 Real Firmware. My current firmware is 'M3 Manager V3.9b X version' and I'm trying to upgrade to the latest version, 'M3 DS Real Loader v4.2a X35'.

    These are the steps I do to upgrade:

    1) Backup my /NDS folder onto my harddrive
    2) Format the card to FAT32
    3) Move the unrarred SYSTEM folder, unchanged, into the root of the card (the SYSTEM folder is then the only folder on the card)
    4) Put the card into my slot-1 cart and attempt to play

    However, after I choose my language (English), the game goes to the 'Loading' screen, right before the manager, and hangs permanently. I shut it off, turn it back on, and it still hangs.

    I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong, or if there's something else I should be doing? Has anyone else ran into this problem and fixed it? Any insight or help with this situation would be _really_ appreciated. [​IMG]
     
  2. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try formatting the card using Panasonics SD formatter (use google to find - its free!)

    This can stop freezing issues
     
  3. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    If formatting doesn't solve it, re-download the firmware. It's possible it may have become corrupted during the download.
     
  4. deviant.zero

    Newcomer deviant.zero Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you downloading the right version for your Region? I once downloaded the wrong region, and that resulted in a black screen at the bottom and the right screen on the top screen.
     
  5. xero285

    Newcomer xero285 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys, I'm having the same problem as well. When I used to update firmware all from Linfox, all I did was copy over the old SYSTEM folder in the root of my card. If I had problems I'd do what JMX322 does. But it doesn't work with firmware versions 4.0 and above. It loads to the menu just fine and I can select items/games/cheats and etc. It loads with the loading bar and then after that where you're supposed to see the "Load" or "Saving" screens all I get is two black screens.

    If my signature doesn't show, I'm using a Kingston 2GB Japan and a Kingston 4GB Taiwan.

    So any help to fix this problem is greatly appreciated.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    make sure you are not using the that modified menu.eng file for better font
    use the one that comes with it
     
  7. xero285

    Newcomer xero285 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Joe88, I'll give that a try. I've been using that modified font file for a while now as well. I'll let you guys know if anything works after I stop using that.
     

Share This Page