Homebrew Lost main Homebrew Icons

ReLaxn89

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
6
Country
United States
So about a week ago I installed CFW and Luma3DS on my O3DS. Everything was working fine and I decided to copy the SD card files from one to another and it kept working fine. A few days later, one of the CIA games I installed crashed and I can't boot it back up anymore. Didn't think much about it and deleted the title and ticket. I didn't think of it as a big deal. I downloaded some more CIAs on my 3SDS and played them without any major problem. I loaded Checkpoint and it wouldn't boot up. It would flash the checkpoint logo twice, go into the menu where you can do stuff, then automatically Closes. Today, I checked Checkpoint through the FBI and viewed it wasn't working.

I made a backup of the SD card on my PC.

So I removed the SD card(after turning off) and put the checkpoint.cia download in SD/cias/.
I decided I might as well do more stuff on the way. So I re-installed the title that crashed before, and put Wumiibo on the SD card along with the respective amiibo files(not sure what they were called). I put a zip folder a Github page told me to put in

SD/Luma/titles/

I didn't have a titles folder so I made one and put the zip there as instructed.

And the amiibo files in

SD/wumiibo/

I take the SD card out, insert it in the 3DS and realize it couldn't be read. I had to reinsert my SD card back in my PC to format it to use 32 kilobytes as it's amount while being FAT32(It was already FAT32).

I insert it again in the 3DS, and now nothing I had before based on my SD card is there. No homebrew apps or CIAs. Data management does have some stuff from it though, and I can still open the Rosalina Menu. Not sure what the cause was, but any help will be appreciated(I did go on other threads but they didn't seem to have the same well, circumstances before)
 

CoolMe

.. Days'd & con'fused ..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
690
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
632
Country
United States
Did you backup the SD card files before formatting it? Of course they'll be removed if you formated it.. Anyway, just put the old backup files, and go to FBI and delete Checkpoint and its ticket. You might also run faketik homebrew app to fix if a title is missing a ticket.
 

WG481

Official Waluigi Propagandist
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
348
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
Somewhere. Look hard enough and you could find me.
XP
531
Country
United States
So about a week ago I installed CFW and Luma3DS on my O3DS. Everything was working fine and I decided to copy the SD card files from one to another and it kept working fine. A few days later, one of the CIA games I installed crashed and I can't boot it back up anymore. Didn't think much about it and deleted the title and ticket. I didn't think of it as a big deal. I downloaded some more CIAs on my 3SDS and played them without any major problem. I loaded Checkpoint and it wouldn't boot up. It would flash the checkpoint logo twice, go into the menu where you can do stuff, then automatically Closes. Today, I checked Checkpoint through the FBI and viewed it wasn't working.

I made a backup of the SD card on my PC.

So I removed the SD card(after turning off) and put the checkpoint.cia download in SD/cias/.
I decided I might as well do more stuff on the way. So I re-installed the title that crashed before, and put Wumiibo on the SD card along with the respective amiibo files(not sure what they were called). I put a zip folder a Github page told me to put in

SD/Luma/titles/

I didn't have a titles folder so I made one and put the zip there as instructed.

And the amiibo files in

SD/wumiibo/

I take the SD card out, insert it in the 3DS and realize it couldn't be read. I had to reinsert my SD card back in my PC to format it to use 32 kilobytes as it's amount while being FAT32(It was already FAT32).

I insert it again in the 3DS, and now nothing I had before based on my SD card is there. No homebrew apps or CIAs. Data management does have some stuff from it though, and I can still open the Rosalina Menu. Not sure what the cause was, but any help will be appreciated(I did go on other threads but they didn't seem to have the same well, circumstances before)
Um, buckaroo, do you know what formatting does?
Formatting is the process where a storage medium is, in simple terms, erased. It's purpose is to now serve as, well, an empty storage unit.
Quick Format won't actually erase it per se, but instead delete the part that identifies bits as a file, making it "empty" to the user. Through some complicated methods you can get files back.

Now that the SD card is formatted, you will have to redo everything unless there is a backup. Luma3DS (unless installed to NAND) may need some reconfiguration, you will need to reinstall your data, extra data, and software unless you can perform some sketchy computer forensics methods on the SD card.

TL;DR: The cause is the fact you erased your SD card.
 

ReLaxn89

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
6
Country
United States
Um, buckaroo, do you know what formatting does?
Formatting is the process where a storage medium is, in simple terms, erased. It's purpose is to now serve as, well, an empty storage unit.
Quick Format won't actually erase it per se, but instead delete the part that identifies bits as a file, making it "empty" to the user. Through some complicated methods you can get files back.

Now that the SD card is formatted, you will have to redo everything unless there is a backup. Luma3DS (unless installed to NAND) may need some reconfiguration, you will need to reinstall your data, extra data, and software unless you can perform some sketchy computer forensics methods on the SD card.

TL;DR: The cause is the fact you erased your SD card.
I am aware that I deleted the things in the SD card, I put my things back in the SD card before putting it again in the 3DS.
 

WG481

Official Waluigi Propagandist
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
348
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
Somewhere. Look hard enough and you could find me.
XP
531
Country
United States
Did you run h2testw on the card after you formatted it?
I don't
I am aware that I deleted the things in the SD card, I put my things back in the SD card before putting it again in the 3DS.
Context
Change every folder in the SD to say (foldername)-backup (specifically the Nintendo/Nintendo 3DS folder).
Your DS will create a new base folder, where you can drag the contents of the old Nintendo 3DS folder into that.
It's worked for me at least twice when I f***ed up my 3DS
 

ReLaxn89

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
6
Country
United States
I don't

Context
Change every folder in the SD to say (foldername)-backup (specifically the Nintendo/Nintendo 3DS folder).
Your DS will create a new base folder, where you can drag the contents of the old Nintendo 3DS folder into that.
It's worked for me at least twice when I f***ed up my 3DS

Just have to say 2 things: Which content folder? The 1st 32 digit folder or the 2nd 32 digit foldrr?

2: If the issue I mentioned earlier happens, is it possible to also lose updates for games? Because the MiiPlaza now requests the update again, and data management says I have the ext data. So for games, will I lose my data from this?
 

WG481

Official Waluigi Propagandist
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
348
Trophies
0
Age
15
Location
Somewhere. Look hard enough and you could find me.
XP
531
Country
United States
Just have to say 2 things: Which content folder? The 1st 32 digit folder or the 2nd 32 digit foldrr?

2: If the issue I mentioned earlier happens, is it possible to also lose updates for games? Because the MiiPlaza now requests the update again, and data management says I have the ext data. So for games, will I lose my data from this?
Wait there's two? Has this SD card been in another system before?
 

CoolMe

.. Days'd & con'fused ..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
690
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
632
Country
United States
Yea, there should be 1 folder on the 3DS folder, the 2nd one was created when you formated the system. So you have to manually check the one with the games installed on it, it should take more storage space than the other.
 

Kwyjor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
1,757
Trophies
1
XP
2,155
Country
Canada
Yea, there should be 1 folder on the 3DS folder, the 2nd one was created when you formated the system.
But the OP already said:
I put my things back in the SD card before putting it again in the 3DS.

At this point I think speculating without more information about exactly what is going may not be helpful.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: Hey, where the admins at? Come in the chat. I got a idea. How bout a Sound notification or...