Hacking Looking to get into programming, requesting input

franky86

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'd like to get into programming so I can actually contribute to homebrew and more importantly, learn a new useful skill for myself.

I self-taught myself some basic Visual Basic and HTML back in middle school when I was a pre-teen and took a few courses in high school adding on to those but then I lost interests in it all. I'm also fairly familiar with databases and photoshop. My knowledge is pretty limited and a lot of it forgotten and outdated. I'm not looking to go back to school and get a degree or anything, but self teaching myself a bit, I like learning at my own pace.

My question for you guys is what to start with? I literally have no idea whats useful and what skills I'd need to get into designing for wii homebrew. I'm totally clueless. I'll probably go buy a few books and I have a subscription to lynda.com with lots of guides, tutorials, and training. I'm looking for serious suggestions as to what to start with, pick a language and learn it? C/C++?

Thanks for any replies, flames included!

WiiPower

Trophies
XP
Country
Gambia, The
Well the question is: do you know any programming language? If yes, you can just start with modifying homebrew applications and learn C in the meantime. Seriously, before i started Wii programming, i only knew Pascal and JAVA. Now i know a little C and didn't read a book or whatever for it.

ddp127

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Netherlands
best is to learn C++, the best way to do is first download a compiler (like visual C++), then download or buy a book, microsoft has a good free ebook, which you can download here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/nl-nl/beginner/c...129(en-us).aspx
that book is 12 chapters, +- 35 pages per chapter...

once you finish that book (or another one of course), you can download devkitpro, and mayby follow some tutorials on wii homebrew development.

Slimmmmmm

GBAtemp MoNkEeE
Trophies