Homebrew Question Local Wireless Play over Internet

Ashhhpro

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
64
Country
Italy
Hello guys! Someone know how to do this?
I wanna use the function of Local Wireless (so 2 nintendo switch) over internet (create a fake wireless lan)
Is possible?
 

Mr. Wizard

Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
1,814
Trophies
0
Location
E8 lattice
XP
1,485
Country
Canada
nm misread the post.

I've heard people suggest hamachi and something else, but nobody has tried it yet? You would just need something to forward broadcast packets like openVPN. It was also suggested that the game would twitch out since the latency would be horrific compared to lan play.

Come to think of it, you could just bridge two routers using openVPN server/client in TAP mode. Or Tinc if that's still a thing, and your router supports it although being peer to peer mesh instead of server-centric could pose issues or be better than other types, won't know until someone tries it.

The lag though, the lag...
 
Last edited by Mr. Wizard,
  • Like
Reactions: GeneralLee

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,018
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
2,343
Country
United States
"Wireless play" generally means a direct bluetooth connection between Switches, which is going to be much harder to capture/tunnel. "LAN play" will go through your wi-fi router and is probably what you want to work with. In games like Mario Kart you have to explicitly select "LAN Play" to get this working.

Of course you still need whatever tool to get from your wi-fi router over the internet, but there's standard tools for that like hamachi or setting up an OpenVPN server.
 
Last edited by Rahkeesh,
D

Deleted User

Guest
A VPN (Virtuell Private Network) will help you. The name says what it does. There are certain tools that will help you (Hamachi)
 

Wolfy

Person That Never Was
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
900
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Somewhere In The Aether...
XP
1,775
Country
United States

Wolfy

Person That Never Was
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
900
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Somewhere In The Aether...
XP
1,775
Country
United States
That method requires waaay more effort than a vpn AND requires specialized equipment. This is shit.

It's honestly not that hard to setup in the slightest, if your someone whose trying to make things like remote play work then you should be expected to do a bit of setting up without whining. Your opinion is yours sir.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------
 

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
5,093
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
New York
XP
2,671
Country
United States
Maybe in an emulator, citra has this exact feature. Just like the 3ds with the exact same technology, I wouldn't expect it on the actual console itself. I would count the emulator thing since yuzu did start out as a citra fork.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • tsao @ tsao:
    did they remove the option for custom profile banner for non-patrons or am i being too stupid to find it?
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    Oh sorry, I should write up some key explanations
    huh?
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    Select is "HIFT"
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    Start is "ENTER"
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    B is "Z"
    A is "X"
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    Thanks for the props @Costello
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I think theirs a section in the forum for gba home few games could share it their
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Homebrew*
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Oh looks like you have already
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    Yup! Now that I think about - I'm n
    ot sure if it's in the right section tho...?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Eh they'll just tell you or move it no biggie
    +1
  • banjo2 @ banjo2:
    @CPG SO true
  • Costello @ Costello:
    @kenenthk : there are no longer blue mods. They're all global mods now :)
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Can't always know where to park
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    @ Costello thinking of adding a new generation I noticed most are green
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    Well-executed concept in your game, @KimKong . Music's pretty great too!
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    @Xzi Thanks for the feedback! I'm planing to make alot more music for each of the levels, so it don't get so repetitive! And working on some graphical upgrade ideas!
    +1
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Do you use 8bit equipment for the music and FL studio
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    I did notice one particularly bad bit of text formatting (and minor typo): in the UFO fight, when trying to shoot at the bottom, it says "Looks like the UFO have some kinda shield" - "has" is better. Also, the very next text box has "L et's try shooting the top instead!" with a line break in the word "Let's".
    +1
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Oh, and I have no idea how to get past this gap - it's too close to the roof. https://imgur.com/A2mYGPy
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    @kenenthk I used OpenMPT to make all the music. My brother will be helping out with some more tunes in the future!
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    @RichardTheKing Thank you so much for pointing out that dialog bug!! I never noticed it while finishing up these new boss fights..

    And that gap on that level should be close enough to jump if you run? I might have to lower that platform a bit maybe?
    +1
  • KimKong @ KimKong:
    Thanks so much for the feedback!! You are awesome!!
  • DrunkenMonk @ DrunkenMonk:
    RIP GBA section 2021 :cry:
    DrunkenMonk @ DrunkenMonk: RIP GBA section 2021 :cry: