Homebrew Loadiine shows black screen when loading NDS game

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
Hello,

I’ve been a pretty amateur hacker when it comes to Nintendo products, but I get by and I’m able to hack what I need, but when I try to play NDS games on Loadiine GX2 the screen flashes white and then goes black. It’s not frozen, the virtual console interface can still be interacted with, but it only shows a black screen. I used NDS2WIIU to inject, and I will say that I have been playing Rhythm Heaven without a problem. Specifically it’s the majority of games that give me a problem (like Wario Ware D.I.Y). I was wondering if there was any solution to make the majority of NDS games work. Thanks!
 
Last edited by MarkosGC,

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
Just inject the rom manually on a real DS game dump...
the rom is inside a zip archive...
you must rename the rom to the same name and compact it on zip, and also give the zip the same name.
then load it with loadiine.
you can then change the game icons to fit the new game.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I never tested it, but some say if you zip lots of roms... the Game enters a debug mode and lists all roms on the screen!
This way you can inject a lot of roms at once!
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
Just inject the rom manually on a real DS game dump...
the rom is inside a zip archive...
you must rename the rom to the same name and compact it on zip, and also give the zip the same name.
then load it with loadiine.
you can then change the game icons to fit the new game.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I never tested it, but some say if you zip lots of roms... the Game enters a debug mode and lists all roms on the screen!
This way you can inject a lot of roms at once!
I never knew that was an option, I’ll try it out and let you know, thank you!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is there a reason you're using Loadiine instead of using a WUP installer?
I didn’t even think about that, I always assumed it had to be played through a homebrew program rather than having on the main menu! I’ll definitely see what happens and keep you updated. Thank you!
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
Just inject the rom manually on a real DS game dump...
the rom is inside a zip archive...
you must rename the rom to the same name and compact it on zip, and also give the zip the same name.
then load it with loadiine.
you can then change the game icons to fit the new game.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I never tested it, but some say if you zip lots of roms... the Game enters a debug mode and lists all roms on the screen!
This way you can inject a lot of roms at once!

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Turns out I have not idea how to do any of that :(

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Is there a reason you're using Loadiine instead of using a WUP installer?
So the NDS games I’m placing in the SD>WiiU>Games folder don’t show up when I place them in the INSTALL folder for WUP installer, and I don’t really know how I can install them via WUP. Do you know how I can do that?
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
2
XP
18,256
Country
United States
--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Turns out I have not idea how to do any of that :(

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


So the NDS games I’m placing in the SD>WiiU>Games folder don’t show up when I place them in the INSTALL folder for WUP installer, and I don’t really know how I can install them via WUP. Do you know how I can do that?
They have to be in the proper format. Download your VC games using Wii U USB Helper.
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
They have to be in the proper format. Download your VC games using Wii U USB Helper.
See, I’ve been using that, but the game I wanted isn’t in the catalogue of games, so I injected it myself, it created a folder and I placed that in Loadiine
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
Follow this guide and use Kirby Squeak Squad for the injection. Allegedly, saving won't work, but you can still use a VC restore point.
https://gbatemp.net/threads/wii-u-nintendo-ds-virtual-console-inject-guide.480668/
I’m already having problems and I’m only at the first steps. I’ve downloaded everything I need, but every time I try to open gui.py, it opens for a few seconds and then closes, and nothing happens. I don’t know what to do or what I’m doing wrong.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
2
XP
18,256
Country
United States
I’m already having problems and I’m only at the first steps. I’ve downloaded everything I need, but every time I try to open gui.py, it opens for a few seconds and then closes, and nothing happens. I don’t know what to do or what I’m doing wrong.
You can probably replace the FunKii step with Wii U USB Helper.
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
I’m already having problems and I’m only at the first steps. I’ve downloaded everything I need, but every try to op gui.py, it opens for a few seconds and then closes, and nothing happens. I don’t know what to do or what I’m doing wrong.
You can probably replace the FunKii step with Wii U USB Helper.
Will do! I’m going to download Kirby Squeak Squad and see how I inject WarioWare later
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
You can probably replace the FunKii step with Wii U USB Helper.
I’m sorry for all the questions, but I really want this to work. I have the WiiU common key, but I don’t know how to specifically make that a .bin file, or if there’s anywhere I can retrieve a .bin file of the common key
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
2
XP
18,256
Country
United States
I’m sorry for all the questions, but I really want this to work. I have the WiiU common key, but I don’t know how to specifically make that a .bin file, or if there’s anywhere I can retrieve a .bin file of the common key
You cannot ask for the common key here.
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
You cannot ask for the common key here.
That’s not what I’m asking, I already have it, I know that, the problem is that I don’t know if there’s a way to convert it into .bin, and if there is, I have no idea how that’s done
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
I gave you the most simple sollution and you just decided to go the hard way.
Just pick mario 64 DS and copy paste it so many times as the games you have.
Imagine you have 20 roms:
1. Copy paste Mario 64 DS 20 times
2. Find the zip file with the rom inside
3. Change it for the new rom
4. Play in loadiine.
(5. Replace Mario 64 DS icons)
 

MarkosGC

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
83
Country
Canada
I gave you the most simple sollution and you just decided to go the hard way.
Just pick mario 64 DS and copy paste it so many times as the games you have.
Imagine you have 20 roms:
1. Copy paste Mario 64 DS 20 times
2. Find the zip file with the rom inside
3. Change it for the new rom
4. Play in loadiine.
(5. Replace Mario 64 DS icons)
But see, that’s the thing, I don’t know what you mean. Copy paste what, the .nds? And where do I paste it? And what zip file? Sorry if I’m super confused, but I don’t think I understand. Do you think you can explain it more thoroughly, if you don’t mind?
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
You have to download Mario 64 DS in folder format for loadiine. Google Mario 64 DS loadiine ready.
Then you will have 3 folders. Code, content and meta. Inside content there is a zip with the rom.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you have any loadiine game you should know the loadiine games format, right?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: And I have a New battery coming for it tomorrow