Load trucha bug before playing burned disk (Wiikey)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Obveron, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. Obveron
    OP

    Member Obveron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    You're all going to laugh at me that I'm still using a wiikey...

    So I want to play a modded Mariokart (Wiimms MKW FUN) that I've burned to DVD. My understanding is that I need to restore the trucha bug, which involves loading the game using an ios that has the bug.
    I thought installing ios 236 would be enough to accomplish this, but the modded Mariokart actually crashes the wii before it loads in the game channel. I'm thinking installing the IOS is not enough, I need the burned game to use an ios with the bug, right?


    What I've done:
    Installed Bootmii (boot 2)
    backed up my nand
    Installed HBC
    Installed IOS 236 v5 mod (from Modmii)

    What I don't want to do:
    Install any unneccessary backup loaders, WADS, cios, etc.
    (I'm not looking for a full softmod here guys, I'd like as little unofficial stuff on my wii as possible)


    Any suggestions to what I need to get this game to work for me? What IOS does Mariokart use when loaded from disk? Can I replace that specific IOS only?
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I would just install cIOS249 and load the disc through a backup loader, but since you don't want to do that...
     
  3. Obveron
    OP

    Member Obveron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd like to avoid installing a backup loader if possible.
     
  4. tswntk

    Member tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    China
    first, you will need to find out what ios that game uses, then you need to install the same ios with trucha bug patched. Different games will use different ios so you probably need to install a whole bunch of patched ios if you insisted to play with back up discs w/o backup loader.

    You can install a usb loader with a few cios to play 90%+ of all games and you think it is more risky/inconvenient than dealing with patched ios?
     
  5. Obveron
    OP

    Member Obveron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    Multimod Manager tells me Mariokart uses ios 36. So I used MMM to fakesign patch IOS 36 and it completed successfully. However when I insert the disk it still crashes with an error.

    tswntk, I don't need a USB loader, my wiikey loads all my backups fine. I just want to play this modified version of Mariokart, it's the only game I need the trucha bug.
     
  6. Obveron
    OP

    Member Obveron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    Got it working with the original disk and riivolution, but i'd rather not use the sd card.
     
  7. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Mario Kart runs on ios36. You need to patch the system ios with the trucha bug, and the ios the game runs on. So you could patch the system ios and ios36, or you could patch the system ios and patch mariokart to run on ios236 (you must patch DATA, not Installer, iospatcher will mess up).
     
  8. CheatFreak47

    Member CheatFreak47 Complex Donut

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Or run it from a backup loader. Why are you so hell bent on using a hardmod? Really they achieve the same thing, so what difference does it make?
     
  9. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    A couple of things that come to mind :
    Are you sure the disk image was burned right and downloaded right? The error could be for another reason like that.
    What does the error say exactly?

    It's also possible that the modded game DOESN'T use IOS36. I've seen modded games that they also modded the TMD to tell it to run off of IOS249. if that's the case you WILL have to install some cIOS in that slot in order for it to work, even from the normal system menu's disk channel. You can pretty easily check the disk image on the computer with Wii Backup Manager to see which IOS it's asking to run off of (which is what the system menu will obey)
     
  10. tswntk

    Member tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    China
    I have an old wii with D2C modchip
    I had to tweak the laser twice and then the modchip died later.
    my only options were:
    1. buy another wii with modchip (hard to find one now)
    2. buy a replacement drive with modchip (soldering a D2C modchip is impossible for me)
    3. softmod for USB loading.

    You will face these decisions sooner or later or maybe you have shelved your wii by then.
     
  11. Obveron
    OP

    Member Obveron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the tips. I checked the image with Wii Backup Manager, it says it uses IOS36.
    The image was built using a cleanrip of my original disk, and a tool built by Wiimms for patching his modded content. The tool built everything successfully and it validated the CRC. It could be a bad burn (unusual with my Tayio yuden TG02 disks and slow 4X burn), but I'll try again.
    The error is a black screen with a message to remove the disk and shut off the wii.

    haha I can't really explain my reluctance to use softmods and usb loaders... this is my best shot:
    -Originally I felt that my wiikey was less likely to be detected by N than a softmod and I was worried about being banned from their servers. (if they haven't banned yet at this point, it's not going to happen, but I didn't know that 4 years ago)
    -I have no need for homebrew (I use a HTPC).
    -The wiikey has done me well for so long, I've already ripped and burned my backups, and I don't feel like USB loading will provide me any more convenience than I already have (at this point I pretty much only play Mario Kart anyways)
    -I'm stubborn in my ways
     
  12. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    If you don't want to re-burn the the disk you could always just verify it against the image file with ImgBrn. That way you don't go using up another blank disk when it's not needed.

    If the MMM trucha bug restorer didn't do the trick for you, there's always the one in DOP-Mii which I think uses an older version of the IOS.
    Since you're IOS 36 is already patched at this point you could ALSO download DarkCorp and JUST install the IOS36 from there. (I can't think of a IOS36 that would be MORE patched up than that.) You don't need to run the installer since that will install over ALL your IOS's. Just grab the WAD from the folder and install it with a WAD manager.
     
  13. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    The disc will not load without a patched system ios. That would be ios60 for 4.0/4.1, ios70 for 4.2, and ios80 for 4.3
     
  14. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
  15. Obveron
    OP

    Member Obveron GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Canada
    Patched IOS 80 and it works! Thanks so much, you guys are awesome!
     

Share This Page