Load games through USB?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fedex14, Mar 15, 2009.

Mar 15, 2009

Load games through USB? by Fedex14 at 8:04 PM (1,876 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    is there any way to run games stored on an external HDD?

    similar to flatmii but directly with a hdd and no hard mods?
     
  2. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I have a question too, can you run Blu-ray on the wii? With softmod plz [​IMG]

    No serious, you cant run games from HDD, the wii needs its drive (unless you have a modchip)
     
  4. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, this is a great idea [​IMG] I wonder why nobody had it before?
     
  5. madmikeuk

    Newcomer madmikeuk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Search. The answer is no.

    Posts merged

    No. The Wii has the wrong kind of laser. Blu-ray drives use a blue laser. DVD drives (and the WOD drive) use red lasers which cannot read BD-ROMs, BD-Rs or BD-RWs.
     
  6. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    madmikeuk you dont know the word sarcasm ? XD
     
  7. Capn_Makeveli

    Newcomer Capn_Makeveli Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know if it will be possible since the release of the cIOS usb 2.0. Hopefully they would be able to implement it into backup loading. One can always dream. [​IMG]
     
  8. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Dream for a WiiZii, it can't load from USB, but from a SATA-HDD...if they will ever release it...

    http://infinitymod.com/

    I think this will come earlier than a Soft-Hack...
     
  9. Fedex14
    OP

    Member Fedex14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    Argentina
    but why isnt it possible? if flatmii is possible, there should be a way to do this...
    which are the technical limitations?
     
  10. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can.......

    Think about it [​IMG]

    You can even run games from the SD card too [​IMG]
     
  11. zapu

    Member zapu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Poland

    No, you are not funny. And this guy ask for a thing that is actually possible to code, but not done (yet).
     
  12. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It wasn't meant to be funny, just to support the fact its impossible
    Also, who says it IS possible to run games from HDD???

    But jeez, if you cant even post that without offending someone...

    And of course i know you can't play blu-ray, madmikeuk [​IMG]
     
  13. zapu

    Member zapu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Poland
    Sorry then. I thought you were trying to laugh at this guy when his post wasn't even that stupid.

    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  14. Cygoku

    Banned Cygoku Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Canada
    We need to ask icefire to code something like this, he's showing so 1337 skill.

    Cygoku
     
  15. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Wasn't someone working or selling this like 15 days after flatmii got stock...?? [​IMG]
     
  16. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    a few months ago if someone would have asked about running a backup game without a modchip people would have made fun of him/her !!!! now if someone said is it possible ? people will say what a noob have you been in the closet for the past 7 months [​IMG] and I'll say this as long as there a code and many awesome coders and crackers it is all possible ( every Nut have a Cracker ) [​IMG] peace
     
  17. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    i think it was crediar who published a video of a working hdd/sd backuploader a couple off month ago. actually it was a proof of concept with its limitations but never the less it worked. he deleted the vid very fast but maybe somebody knows a link to a copy of it.

    i am sorry if it wasn't crediar and the vid was published by somebody else. but that's what sticked in my mind. feel free to correct me!
     
  18. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    I've seen that Video but not sure about the source though [​IMG] as well .
     

Share This Page