Hacking Latest IOSes

TheSuperC

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi,

I am a noob, and any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

If I can supply a quick history of my Wii console: I purchased a black Wii (with system menu 4.2E), which I softmodded (by using the GBAtemp guide). After the release of 4.3E, which I upgraded to (by accident), I recently had to re-softmod it (again using the GBAtemp guide). As far as I know, I now have the latest HBC etc.

Using CFG-USBLoader, I noticed that some games didn't work (black screens and other malfunctions) using IOS250, but my favourite games worked 100% so I never bothered to try other settings and IOSes.

My trouble started with 'Donkey Kong Country Returns [PAL][English][Wii]-JiMiC'. I played world 1 using IOS250 without any problems. On world 2-5, however, I suddenly started getting a recurring error 'Communications with the Wii Remote have been interrupted'. I found a guide suggesting that I use IOS249. Using IOS249, the error was resolved, but the console would hang upon losing a life. I thought because this is a rather new game, I might have to upgrade my cIOSes.

Now my question: How do I know which versions of each of the IOS / cIOS files do I need? Is it best to always use the latest?

In trying to upgrade my cIOSes, I used the following guide: "Custom IOSx Rev 21 Installation Guide".

In comparing sysChecks, before and after the cIOSx upgrades, the only difference was 'IOS249 (rev 17): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0' changed to 'IOS249 (rev 21): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0'.

But, when I tried to play Donkey Kong Country Returns again, using the latest IOS249, I got the same problem which IOS250 used to give: recurring error 'Communications with the Wii Remote have been interrupted'.