Lag Issue

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by NDStemp, Apr 3, 2011.

Apr 3, 2011

Lag Issue by NDStemp at 6:05 AM (1,931 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been lagging (FPS lag) in every game even with a new PSU and Graphics card. My friend tells me it's my processor but I don't know what he means by that. My basic system specs are as follows:

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
    Processor: Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6850 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
    Memory: 4096 MB RAM
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460
    PSU: Corsair HX850w

    Any help?

    dxdiag_1.png dxdiag_2.png cpuz_1.png cpuz_2.png cpuz_3.png cpuz_4.png
     


  2. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    DDR1/2/3? Motherboard model? More details on the graphics card please (exact model).

    I'm going to bed now, but tomorrow I'll try to help, if its not solved yet.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    A GTX what?

    What does dxdiag's video section say?
     
  4. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Uh, I'll get pictures from dxdiag and CPU-Z.

    Edit: Uploaded pictures in first post and thanks for helping guys.
     
  5. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "in every game"

    Do you literally mean every game ever, or just the ones you've tried?
     
  6. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, the ones I've tried. Flash games, MapleStory, League of Legends, Warcraft III. Sighh.
     
  7. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well considering your specifications greatly exceed the recommended for those games my guess would be that there's another underlying problem.

    What kind of lag is it? Is it slowdown like frame-rate lag or like online lag where you rubberband around? The latter is usually due to your internet.
     
  8. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Modern CPUs downclock themselves when they are close to overheating, which could explain this kind of lag you're describing. You should probably look up the CPU temperatures to see if that's the case here.

    HWMonitor should be able to help you check that.
     
  9. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Slowdown like frame-rate lag.

    Edit: Are these temperatures normal then?

    wardware_monitor.png
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Play a game that lags, then quickly minimize/exit it and check the processor's current clock rate in CPU-Z and the temperatures, then press CTRL+SHIFT+ESCAPE to open up the task manager, go to the "processes" section, and sort by CPU (NOT memory), and see which processes are using the highest percentage.
     
  11. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    The highest process is my game at approx. 70% +

    And here are the screenshot from CPU Z and Hardware Monitor

    Untitled.png
     
  12. Theraima

    Member Theraima I own this desert, bitches!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Clouds
    Country:
    Finland
    When did this problem start?
     
  13. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    My computer had been inactive for about a month or two because the graphics card fan broke so a few weeks ago I bought a new graphics card (GTX 460) and the problem started since then.
     
  14. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Your PSU probably isn't enough or is going bad. Also, that CPU is greatly bottlenecking your card.

    Run GPU-Z and start OCCT and run the GPU then PSU test.

    Make sure your GPU is kicking up into it's 3D clocks (with GPU-Z's monitoring mode).

    Clean out your old drivers with this http://downloads.guru3d.com/Guru3D---Drive...tup)_d1655.html and update to the newest.
     
  15. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    It's a brand new PSU and I've cleaned and reinstalled my drivers. Issue still exists. ;\
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Is the video card connected to the PSU?
    There are two plugs on the back of the card that have to be powered from the PSU.
     
  17. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, it's connected to the PSU.
     
  18. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    CPU doesn't seem to be overheating, but you should still stress the system with OCCT and/or Furmark and run GPU-Z to confirm the video card is switching to 3D clocks.

    You also have a MASSIVE pagefile, which seems to be in use quite a lot. Do you see a lot of hard drive activity in games? Run a SMART test on it with Speedfan, which can also give you a rough voltage check of your 3.3/5/12v rails. (Should be within 5% of rated each) Should also run a memtest.

    Might want to check those 6 pin GPU PSU connectors again too, they can be a bitch to connect firmly, and can even push one one of the cables if it's bent a bit.
     
  19. NDStemp
    OP

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Weird lol. There are some times where I don't lag at all. After some restarts it's fine but most of the time, I lag.

    Is my CPU bottlenecking my GPU?
     
  20. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but performance shouldn't have decreased since your last GPU, you would have just hit a plateau where the GPU isn't being fully utilized (like it would be at 60% usage) while the CPU is at 100%.

    Power, heat, drivers, HDD (failure or fragmentation), RAM, pick one and test for it.
     

Share This Page