Just got a Modchip Installed.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by visualise-this, Oct 24, 2010.

Oct 24, 2010
  1. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Just got a mod chip installed. Put Wii Party in my console and its asking to update. Will it brick my console or stop the chip from working?
     
  2. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Seriously... More info please! What modchip?

    And never update your Wii with games from other regions!
     
  3. Majroa

    Member Majroa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Update, no worries.
     
  4. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Seriously?
     
  5. Majroa

    Member Majroa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea, the wii menu can't possibly brick modchips:P
     
  6. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    huh? I was more worried about bricking my console :\
     
  7. Majroa

    Member Majroa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, if it is from the same region, why worry?
     
  8. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    update when he obviously has no clue and gave little info of his setup.

    Pure genius [​IMG]


    but yeah if its in region no loss other than going over 4.1 and losing the chips region free but then there's always gecko.
     
  9. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't know. The guy told me not to update my wii and I could never play new games but he didn't sound like he had any idea what he was talking about.. I'm just worried that i'll update and my modchip will stop working or something :S
     
  10. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Ahk thanks a lot!
     
  11. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    When I try play Wii Party. I am getting error has occurred pleas turn off console and start again.
     
  12. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    When a burnt disc doesn't load... ALWAYS try reburning the disc before anything else.
     
  13. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Its the original disc :S
     
  14. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wondering, why didn't you softmod? After all its free.
     
  15. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,294
    Country:
    probably the modchip don't even support the new games..lol
    try turn it off (if there's such a function)
     
  16. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Because I hadn't been in the wii scene in ages and didn't know that soft mods had come available. I only found out after coming here for help with the mod chip
     
  17. JonthanD

    Member JonthanD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Sitting
    Country:
    United States
    Losing region free isn't much of a problem if you use RegionFrii to change the ISO ?


    I'm on 4.3 myself so I probably lost it a while ago, but I always patch my games over anyway, seems safer to me to scrub them and region patch them.
     
  18. visualise-this
    OP

    Newcomer visualise-this Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Australia
    Should I try updating my Wii from the settings menu then trying it with the chip. Will there be any risk of bricking/the chip not working this way?
     
  19. JonthanD

    Member JonthanD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Sitting
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly I have my Wii chipped and moded with the homebrew channel, I would recommend that any day of the week [​IMG]

    Chips are nice, but Homebrew is just fantastic.


    Also there is probably no risk right now at 4.3, but make sure your chip is updated to the latest firmware.

    Also if your not at 4.3 on your Wii I would install any hacks you wish to have now, since you can still hack a 4.3 Wii its just a lot easier at any version lower then 4.3
     
  20. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    There's no risk on 4.3, but there's no point, stick with 4.1, 4.3 just blocks some homebrew launching methods (although once you have hbc installed it doesn't really matter, and the fact that you have a mod chip means you can use any of the other exploits anyways.) Use priiloader to block updates. And search around to see what IOSes you need to run a certain game. Do alittle research before doing anything. At least read the stickies.
     

Share This Page