just bought a used wii might be bricked

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by soopa, Apr 28, 2012.

Apr 28, 2012
  1. soopa
    OP

    Member soopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I just recently purchased a old white wii for $10
    guy said it was working a week ago and now nothing

    Its a 4.3u wii that was softmodded by whoknows who

    when i turn the wii on i get a black screen with no video or audio
    I tried to go into prleoader but nothing seems to work


    is there any fix for this wii or is it just a $10 paper weight lol

    thanks
     
  2. serenade.63

    Member serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    Probably shouldn't believe "$10 dollar wii" sales lololol
     
    2 people like this.
  3. kano

    Newcomer kano Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Malta
    if you hold reset while booting does pre/priloader boots up ?
     
  4. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    you need to ask if the person even INSTALLED priiloader in the first place.
     
  5. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    You should check the serial to see if it's capable of having bootmii @ boot2

    In that case, you can try to boot it with an sd card inserted with the bootmii folder and files on it. If you are lucky, it might boot into bootmii.

    It might also be worth to find out if anything special was done when the wii bricked. Defective bluetooth modules can also result in a brick.
    If the guy inserted a new original game and made it update...It's not the bluetooth module. If he removed ios 60, 70 and 80 to get more free blocks on the nand, it's not the bluetooth module either. If he shut the unit down, and it refused to boot the next day, it can be the BT module.
     
  6. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    does the disc light blink twice when you turn it on?
    if yes, that the guy who sold it to you is a complete idiot who never looks for help
    get the bootmii files from modmii and use a tool (someone help me out here) to build a nand
     
  7. soopa
    OP

    Member soopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I originally bought it for the wii drive to replace my old wii
    Sorry no it will not boot up preloader
    No the light only blinks blue once when power is pressed on


    Thanks everyone for the help ill be willing to try anything as it will be used for parts in last case..
     
  8. soopa
    OP

    Member soopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    How would i go about checking the bluetooth modules to see if it is broken

    They said they dont know what happen or what was on it
    they said it was used with a external Hard drive thats about it.

    No one will confess if they did anything so who knows what really happened
    they just said they turned it off for the night and in the morning it didnt work.
     
  9. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    The easiest way to find out if the bluetooth module is defective, is simply replacing it with a known good one.
    You need a triwing screwdriver to open your wii. Don't try it with something else, you won't succeed.
    I am no expert in this matter. Maybe there are other ways to find out I am not aware of.
     
  10. LWares87

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Two applications/tools:
    ohneschwanzenegger & nandBinCheck

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Use ohneschwanzenegger to create a new nand, you'll need the keys from the console to do it.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Then use nandbincheck to check the nand has been created properly.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Credit to:
    - giantpune for the nand tools


    Edit: As I originally created this from my mobile, i'll edit this at some point to include proper bullet points.
     
  11. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    fixed.
     
  12. LWares87

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've updated my original post, anyway.
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,224
    Country:
    United States
    What is the serial number for the wii?
     
  14. LWares87

    Member LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    Colchester, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @soopa: It's for us to identify, when the console was made and if it's compatible with having BootMii installed as boot2.

    Edit: If it were possible and easier, someone could use your nand to merge with a 4.2U stock nand, then you'd be able to work with that new nand from there.
     
  15. Mariosegafreak

    Member Mariosegafreak AKA ZeroTheSavior

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Country:
    United States
    Did he even say there was bootmii?

    Isn't there some way to fix this by holding down all 4 D-Pad directions on A GCN controller?
     
  16. soopa
    OP

    Member soopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Before I go and test this option does it need to have bootmii originally installed because I dont think it was.

    If I hold down all 4 dpad on a gc controller nothing happens tried every port and multiple lengths of time going on for 3 mins

    The wii serial number is LU3713542[3] im pretty sure its a boot2 wii..
     

Share This Page