Just bought a new 3ds, should I update?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Rensato, Aug 16, 2011.

Aug 16, 2011
  1. Rensato
    OP

    Newcomer Rensato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    I just read something here in the forums about not updating your 3ds until you update your flashcard.

    I ordered an acekard 2i and it will arrive in 2 more days....
    I was wondering, can I update my 3DS and then update the acekard 2i using the ds lite?

    I'm not sure how this things work...
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a DS Lite, you can just update your Acekard 2i with that. Go ahead and update your 3DS.
     
  3. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    i'm no ackard expert but i don't think it's safe to update an ackard in a 3ds (unless i'm wrong...)
     
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming the Acekard works on the 3DS before it is updated, it is safe to run the DSi update file on a 3DS. However, as long as you have access to a DS Lite, you are free to update the Acekard 2i with that.
     
  5. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    i never knew that severe's me right for saying that i guess. but has Lacius said TC update on you ds lite if you don't feel safe.
     
  6. Rensato
    OP

    Newcomer Rensato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Thanks a lot for the replies. I just updated my 3DS =)
     
  7. Dingoo-fan 32

    Member Dingoo-fan 32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    Brazil
    And it still works? [​IMG] I want to to update mine too! (i Use acekard)
     
  8. Rensato
    OP

    Newcomer Rensato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    I really hope I receive the hw81 ... I asked the seller... though he didn't knew anything about that... ¬¬

    Posts merged

    I don't have my acekard yet... I'll need to update it using my ds lite since the 3ds probably won't recognize it...
     
  9. synce

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you have to update the card through the DS? I just drag and drop files through the SD. That's all you need brah. And don't nobody make me look stupid!
     
  10. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    If you update the 3DS and your ak2i is not upgraded to be able to run on that firmware, then the DS Lite is a second option to use to update the card
     
  11. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Firmware update, not OS update.
     

Share This Page