Just an DSi Idea

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Crazy-S, Jan 9, 2010.

Jan 9, 2010

Just an DSi Idea by Crazy-S at 9:20 PM (3,522 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. Crazy-S
    OP

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi why is everyone trying to hack the dsi directly via the hardware
    (I mean cracking the dsi open and play with some wires^^)
    So my idea is could we hack the DSi via the internet like some kind of Trojan that infects the DSi system with a hack so that we have acces to the SD menu and others
    but also this could be very bad for the DSi because if we find a backdoor via the DSi browser everyone could make Viruses for the DSi

    [remember thats just an idea]
     


  2. Snorlax

    Member Snorlax POSTMODERNISM

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well that still involves finding an exploit in the browser. :/
     
  3. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    What he said.
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The hardware is used to trace RAM, see how the DSi actually works so they CAN make a software exploit through games or channels or System Menu or whatever. They need it, you can't just magically put a few files on the SD card or something and expect a DSi HBC to pop up. They have to do the RAM tracing et al to learn where the vulnerabilities are and how to exploit them. Believe me, the people doing that stuff are FAR more experienced and knowledgeable in this stuff than you or I (no offence).
     
  5. Snorlax

    Member Snorlax POSTMODERNISM

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Damnit.
    I've just been placing 1000's of pr0nz on my card for that very reason!
    Thanks alot. :[
     
  6. Crazy-S
    OP

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    hi just dont forget that the DSi Ram got hacked already
    Look here:
    1.Link
    2.Link
     
  7. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RAM got dumped, not really hacked. They still have to figure out what on earth is going on in the RAM, what instructions the CPU is sending etc.
    We're far off hacking the DSi
     
  8. gameguy95

    Banned gameguy95 Needs More Furries!

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Furrytown
    Country:
    United States
    ^what he said
     
  9. Crazy-S
    OP

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    thats bad...
    but the teams dont say a thing about what theyre doing now and what they did...
    the guys from hackmii haven written about the dsi since September
     
  10. Sterling

    Member Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I guess they really want it kept under wraps. Sometimes no news is good news. [​IMG]
     
  11. Van_Xan

    Newcomer Van_Xan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    from my bed
    Country:
    United States
    lol yea it could meen they are working on it secretly or they aren't working on it at all xD
     
  12. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    But for all we know they could be releasing an exploit and some demodsibrew tommorow.
     
  13. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Or not.
     
  14. Crazy-S
    OP

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    yep
    they should inform us
    they could say every week a word about their process in DSi hacking
     
  15. aneotoena

    Newcomer aneotoena Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    Why...
    ... should they inform us? (do we pay them?)
    ... do this threads appear every week?
     
  16. Christopher8827

    Member Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Australia
    Yea. Um, the Dsi doesn't run Windows OS as well so no viruses can run on it, nub.
     
  17. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    ...what? You honestly think that something has to run Windows for a virus to work on it? Really?

    Not to mention that there already was a DS bricker program out there several years ago. It was mostly hype, and was never really found in the wild, but it existed.
     
  18. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Fail.

    A device doesn't have to run Windows to get a virus. A computer virus is a computer program that can copy itself and infect/damage a computer. Heck, a Mac could get a virus. Even Linux.

    n00b.
     
  19. Van_Xan

    Newcomer Van_Xan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    from my bed
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, I made a virus for a phone(I lost the source so dont ask), and we all know most phones aren't running windows.
    [​IMG]
     
  20. WioWao

    Member WioWao GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Denmark
    THREE

    Now STFU. Maybe its lame what he said but we dont have to make that clear 3 times. Additionally you guys pointed out that a virus has to be able to copy itself to other systems which has never been seen before in the DS Scene. So how should he know that? Isn't this a forum for the ordinary gamer. Or is it a forum for the uber 1337 smartass hackers that has to quote 3 times `?

    [​IMG]
    Edit : Spelling error
     

Share This Page