James Cameron's Avatar: The Game

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TroyTheZombie, Dec 2, 2009.

Dec 2, 2009
  1. TroyTheZombie
    OP

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Figured I'd make a topic so any updates as far as hex fixes and such go can be kept in one tidy place.

    As anyone who as tried loading this game knows, it contains the same copy protection as New Super Mario Bros Wii (BCA protection) apparently.

    My question is, has anyone found what values to hex edit to get rid of the protection, and if not yet, would someone be so kind as to post the values/solution here when found.

    I'll be hunting and looking around as well, hopefully someone comes across something.
     
  2. Painguy

    Member Painguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Oh r u serious....dang it looks like were gonna have to be pulling out our hex editors for every dang game from now on just like the DS
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I think you need a USB Gecko for this...!! [​IMG]
     
  4. TroyTheZombie
    OP

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I see, lol. I'll be sure to look into that.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    **EDIT**

    This game turned out just to be a bad dump, no BCA data.
     
  6. TroyTheZombie
    OP

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds much more like a solid solution than hex editing every new game that comes along.

    Do any loaders currently support this? if so, which ones?

    Any chance of providing a link to Herme's write up regarding the matter?
     
  7. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    I know its a little off topic, but is this the same protection in CSI Deadly Intent?

    I don't mind patching, I'm not a purist who needs 1:1 copies. If it works, its good enough for me.

    Anyone care to explain exactly how this works, if its even known? I have a general idea, I assume the game's main.dol checks for the data and if it doesn't find it, will freeze, or cause the eject disc error. Is it possible for a loader to bypass that check or would that be too much? Kind of like 002, but BCA Fix or something like that?
     
  8. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
  9. bobinski

    Newcomer bobinski Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Greece
    how can we apply the USA.Wii-ALMoSt fix?

    I used the BCA fix rar as .r88 (renamed it first) and extracted the iso

    BUT file hashes are the same so why did they bother to release this fix?
     
  10. broksonic

    Member broksonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If this game has this BCA protection. How come the ntsc version works past the second level ? . Could it be because the pal version is a bad dump and should be nuked. And dosn't even have BCA
     
  11. TroyTheZombie
    OP

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    lol. I am aware it does not contain BCA protection now, lol. This was posted at the time where many people thought it did, since most were using the PAL release.


    might want to check the date this was made, lol.
     
  12. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    According to crediar, it doesn't have the BCA protection at all. The only reason the PAL version scene release didn't work was because it was a bad dump.

    I dumped the PAL version of the game myself yesterday, and it worked fine on cIOSCORP v3.5 & v3.6 without any problems.
     
  13. bobinski

    Newcomer bobinski Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Greece
    I only checked the PAL version and encountered the second level freeze.
    I didn't checked the USA version, I'm sorry.
    As I understand the USA version works fine and that BCA stuff is nonsense.

    If this is the case thank you broksonic and Troy
     
  14. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    usb loader gx now also has support for external bca files
     
  15. lostdwarf

    Member lostdwarf GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    on this game, just after the part where you get the bow and arrow, it tells you to tap Z to center the camera... only when i do this and walk forward the game freezes on me. happened 3 times now in the same place. using cfg usb loader v49b pal wii 4.1 and cios rev10(dont flame it - it works great)


    by the way this game has full motion plus support and balance board. its fun being a wasp! and its quite good so far so please someone help me. (i am downloading a different dump to try but looks like its gonna take a couple days)
     
  16. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    played yesterday for about an hour and didn't get a freeze or crash I think it was through neogamma
     

Share This Page