Issues with black screens with transitions

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Gourmandises, Oct 19, 2011.

Oct 19, 2011
  1. Gourmandises
    OP

Newcomer Gourmandises Newbie

Netherlands
    Hello GBAtemp community,

I have been playing on my R4 card for a couple of years now and I've always been reading these forums for releases and fixes.

There are a few games that produce a black screen when I'm, for example entering a building/going into combat ( Dragon Quest 6 ) etc. I was wondering what we the cause for it? It only happens to the Dragon Quest games.

For example, in Dragon Quest 6 I just defeated a big boss, and I decide to save straight away. I enter the Church, but my screen goes black and the sound continues. Sometimes it is very annoying. I'm playing on the newest Wood ( 1.38 IIRC )

Thanks for your help in advance! :)

PS: I couldn't really find the right topic for it, as it doesn't involve hacking or anything like that

2. uriyasama

Newcomer uriyasama Advanced Member

United States
    I know this problem it used to happen to me a lot on r4 too. I had to switch my r4 about 3 times until it stopped doing this, so I guess it's a common r4 problem. everytime I switched the r4 card i switched the sd card too, so it might also be connected to the sd card being slow. until you solve the problem I suggest you to backup the game saves because my game saves were erased after the black screen sometimes.

3. Kaoid

Member Kaoid GBAtemp Regular

United Kingdom
    its probaly anti-piracy protection coded into the game. sqaure enix have been puting ap protection into their games recently. you will have to find a patch for it.

4. Sora de Eclaune

Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

United States
    Your firmware is outdated. Update to Wood 1.45. That should fix your problem.