ROM Hack Issue with n3ds not booting at all, luma3ds 8.1

Mana_Nightos

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
32
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United Kingdom
Hey everyone, I'm having an issue with my new 3ds which is really annoying.

I was recently moving and backing up my dbs folder when I tried to restart and my n3ds wouldn't boot. It came up with a crash message with the sd card in, and a black screen without it in. After further looking I found that the ticket.sb and title.db files were 0 bytes large. Despite the 3ds not booting however, i can still access the luma config menu as well as godemode9 etc... Does anybody have any suggestions on how I could fix this please? I have another n3ds if I need to transfer anything, and the broken 3ds is on luma 8.1 and b9s (newest version). Thanks a lot in advance!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20180120_100949663.jpg
    IMG_20180120_100949663.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 207
Last edited by Mana_Nightos,

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
12,354
Trophies
2
XP
8,033
Country
United States
Hey everyone, I'm having an issue with my new 3ds which is really annoying.

I was recently moving and backing up my dbs folder when I tried to restart and my n3ds wouldn't boot. It came up with a crash message with the sd card in, and a black screen without it in. After further looking I found that the ticket.sb and title.db files were 0 bytes large. Does anybody have any suggestions on how I could fix this please? I have another n3ds if I need to transfer anything, and the broken 3ds is on luma 8.1 and b9s (newest version). Thanks a lot in advance!
Start with a clean sd card and Luma3DS v9.0
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
start with a new or clean sd.
try to see if luma folder files are not corrupt.
 

Mana_Nightos

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
32
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United Kingdom
Well, I started with a new micro SD, and copied the contents of luma 9.0 onto it, so the luma folder is new. For the boot9strap folder... Well, I can't seem to find it, but I couldn't find it before I broke the N3DS anyways, so I don't think that would have been the case :P I hope it wasn't something to do with messing with ticket.db and title.db!
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
12,354
Trophies
2
XP
8,033
Country
United States
Well, I started with a new micro SD, and copied the contents of luma 9.0 onto it, so the luma folder is new. For the boot9strap folder... Well, I can't seem to find it, but I couldn't find it before I broke the N3DS anyways, so I don't think that would have been the case [emoji14] I hope it wasn't something to do with messing with ticket.db and title.db!
Only thing that should be on sd card is boot.firm in root on clean sd card
 

wurstpistole

GBAtemp MVP
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
4,666
Trophies
1
XP
5,478
Country
United Kingdom
I had that once, after updating console and with it luma to a more current version, and having messed around with homemenu before (region free patching back when Luma didn't do it itself).
There is a section in Luma's Wiki on that error. Try if it helps. https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/FAQ-and-troubleshooting

It didn't work for me, I could not install the NS.cia and had to restore an older NAND backup. If you don't have that, you'll have to do a ctrtransfer, which will result in a loss of all your data.
 

Mana_Nightos

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
32
Trophies
0
XP
109
Country
United Kingdom
I had that once, after updating console and with it luma to a more current version, and having messed around with homemenu before (region free patching back when Luma didn't do it itself).
There is a section in Luma's Wiki on that error. Try if it helps. https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/FAQ-and-troubleshooting

It didn't work for me, I could not install the NS.cia and had to restore an older NAND backup. If you don't have that, you'll have to do a ctrtransfer, which will result in a loss of all your data.
Hi, thanks for the suggestion! I never thought of a ctrtransfer, I'll look into it. :) oh, and losing data doesn't matter. I formatted it anyways, as I was going to sell it because I have a n3ds XL xD
 
Last edited by Mana_Nightos,
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hi, thanks for the suggestion! I never thought of a ctrtransfer, I'll look into it. :) oh, and losing data doesn't matter. I formatted it anyways, as I was going to sell it because I have a n3ds XL xD
Hi, thanks for the suggestion! I never thought of a ctrtransfer, I'll look into it. :) oh, and losing data doesn't matter. I formatted it anyways, as I was going to sell it because I have a n3ds XL xD
thats a nice suggestion,try it.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtube.com/shorts/WUOq1dlZWxI?si=LBlEJwZfwtWShljP lol Denmark can't handle the spice