Is my Wii Bricked?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Foxhound1234, May 25, 2010.

May 25, 2010

Is my Wii Bricked? by Foxhound1234 at 7:24 AM (2,325 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Alright firstly id like to apologize if this has already been asked but I'm not gonna look through 440 pages on the subject of "black screen" in "Wii-hacking" forum and searches related to that.

    OK I'm going to start by telling you about my Wii console.

    Serial Number: LU338411745
    IOS: 4.1u

    Second of all i have hacked another Wii before and was a cinch an used the same guide as the one below.

    I followed this simple guide: http://www.pothsprojects.com/viewtopic.php?f=135&t=30

    I got to this part

    "Run IOS Downgrader
    Open up WAD Manger in home brew again and install the Wii gator backup launcher so you can boot your games from DVD or install the USB loader if you plan on booting games from SD or USB hard drive."​

    BTW i successfully hacked the Wii and was tested and confirmed working, but some home brew did not work like Softchip R99 (which i currently use on my other 4.1u Wii)
    So i decided to continue the guide so more i just got to the part where it said "Should be all hacked now and.." as soon as i seen those words i immediately tried a burnt disc and it worked and i like i said some home brew didn't work so i continued the guide.

    So then i tried the IOS Downgrader (in mind that i probably just needed to update and maybe it will start working) and all went well except at the end it said "success! something something...restarting Wii.." Wii-mote's lights went off and the wii was froze for like 3 minutes and just wouldn't restart so i took pressed the power button and turned it on again and all i see is a black screen. So then i just googled like crazy and it said :

    "Solution #3
    Black screen, no connection solution

    Another solution to this problem is as follows

    1. Eject the game disk (if there is one).
    2. Unplug the Wii from the back.
    3. Wait 1 minute.
    4. Plug it back in.
    5. Turn it on from the Wii Remote.
    6. Press reset if it does not come on.
    7. Hold down the power button to shut it off.
    8. Turn it on again.
    "​

    Didn't work...i am all out of ideas and i wish that someone would help me just get the Wii back, i don't care if i have to revert back to 4.1u (non-hacked) i just need it back up and running.

    Thank you for anyone that took the time to read all of this.

    Fox.
     


  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    you should have installed preloader / bootmii before running any type of downgraders.
     
  3. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the fast reply!

    But isn't it to late for that now? lol. Any ideas on how to get my Wii back up and running?

    Oh BTW i did install bootmii before i did this. It's kinda part of the guide.
     
  4. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So you have bootmii as boot2 or IOS ? If you have it as boot2 you can run the Homebrew channel from there. Then download DOP-Mii and install system menu 4.1 alongside with IOS60 v6174 and then your system will bootup. then run a wii system update.
     
  5. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thank's i will try this tomorrow.

    BTW i did install with bootmii as boot2
     
  6. Sanfransexstar

    Newcomer Sanfransexstar Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    well you are one lucky dude! haha. that could've been BAD.
     
  7. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Well, i DID install bootmii on boot2 but nothing is working. I have bootmii folder on the root of my SD card and all i see is a black screen. I don't see two flashes when i power on the wii.

    What can i do? Is there any way i can recover this wii with another wii? Can i recover my wii at any means?
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    if you dont see the two blinking lights when your wii turns on, then you didnt install bootmii as boot2.
     
  9. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    And I'm not Wii illiterate, just tell me what to do and I'll do it. I don't care what it is. It's just i came across a brick that i have never had before. And i already looked over your sig before DeadlyFoez when i was searching for some answers. If it's something that has to do with code, then yes that would be "over my head"

    Oh and i already tried putting bootmii folder with armboot.bin, bootmii.ini and ppcboot.elf on the SD card from "prepare sd card" option in bootmii options. Don't work either. Tried two different SD cards as well. Just got a PNY SD HC 4gb (some say it's not compatible, some do) and PNY optima SD 2gb.

    Also i burned the Bootmii discv1 to a DVD and tried to boot but that does not work either.
     
  10. sonicsmash2

    Member sonicsmash2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there a folder on your SD card called BootMii?
     
  11. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, i mentioned that above you're message.
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Take out the SD card and see if any brief flashes appear when you turn the Wii on.
     
  13. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States

    no not really, just one flash on the blue light. But im sure that's just the way the wii is.
     
  14. codone

    Newcomer codone Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    FYI, I have Bootmi as boot2, and mine doesnt blink either. Just the blue slot flash when I turn it on. As said earlier, you have to make a directory on the root of the SD card called "bootmii" (lowercase might matter). And it needs to contain the files "armboot.bin", "bootmii.ini", and "ppcboot.elf", which you should have saved from installing Bootmii. Of course you should have also done a complete backup of your NAND after installing Bootmii. So, where do you fall in all of these "should haves"? LoL

    PS -- sorry I didnt read the 2nd part of your message a few above. I see you already did put these files in the directory. I can't see why BootMii isn't coming up for you. Did you ever test it after you installed BootMii?
     
  15. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    DeadlyFoez, Thanks allot for your time. I really appreciate everything. I will do those thing's you have mentioned and report back.
     
  16. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Update 1: Ok i just now got around to try this again. SaveMiiFrii is does not work for me although i did this before.

    Before getting to update 2 id like to add something that may have bricked my wii.

    "There always is the possibility that when you ran something that it horribly glitched for any unknown reason, or even an official nintendo update failed"

    FYI this story I'm about to tell was BEFORE i hacked the Wii. I bought Mario bros wii and it said on the disc channel that i needed to update to 4.2u so i ran the update and it said it was installed and the game played but when i went back to system settings i happen to notice that my Firmware was STILL 4.1u. Is it possible that the wii updated (kinda)? or just put some 4.2u system files on there and just had an error? So then i wanted to hack the wii totally forgetting that the wii didn't really install 4.2u and went for a 4.1u wii system hacking guide. So when i used the IOS downgrader maybe it didn't have the right files? then just bricked for some reason?

    Update 2: ..So how is betwiin supposed to help me if i can not run bootmii? let alone comex's nand formatter. Cosmex formater is an elf file which boots from SD section in bootmii. it formats the nand and installs wads
    ...I need bootmii to run these programs. Not possible as of right now. But they are very useful programs that i WISH to use. If there is any other way to boot Betwin or put my working wii's NAND into my bricked wii's nand container that i don't know about, please...give me at least some key words to put into google so that i can find out how to do it.
     
  17. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Update bump.
     
  18. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ok if bootmii / prelaoder doesnt work then your only hope is too contact Deadlyfoez and see if his inefectus totorial will help you and even then your gonna need a nand backup of your wii im pretty sure.
     
  19. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Topic title ......

    [​IMG] | [​IMG] | Is my Wii Bricked?


    Why the big smile ? [​IMG]
     
  20. Foxhound1234
    OP

    Newcomer Foxhound1234 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I'm not buying infectus to recover my system menu plus he said they no longer make them anymore and is very hard to find. And you would need either back up NAND or keys which i do not have. Although i do have backup NAND and keys for my other wii, but Betwiin was supposed to be able to restore your NAND from another wii and replace the bricked wii's nand with the good wiis NAND, and i was thinking...how the hell is that possible? The Wii's NAND is for that wii with it's own configuration, serial number and keys, how would it run properly? but i don't have bootmii so anyway I'm pretty much screwed. Thanks for trying to help tho.
     

Share This Page