1. Rugos

    OP Rugos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hey.

    I got my R4 a while back, and played DS games on it, fine. (I assumed it was the legit one.) Some games didn't work (white screen/freezing, etc.), but I was to young to understand why and to lazy to bother finding out. Now that I'm playing my DS again, I've been trying to install Wood R4 (R4 Wood?) on my DSL, which works fine, but when trying to boot roms, I get a WSoD. Some poking around the cyberspace informed me that R4 clones SEEM to work with wood, but crash when doing anything other then running through the GUI. So here I am, asking if my R4 is a clone.
    [​IMG]
    ^ That's the cart I have, except; between the big "R4" and the "Revolution for DS", it says "Upgrade" in the same shiny font/text as the rest of it. (Not Upgrade III, just Upgrade)

    Another thing: whilst looking through youtube unboxing vids, I realized that most of those came with USB adapters, whereas mine came with an adapter chip. (?)

    Edit: Another difference; the text on the image is white, whereas the text on my flashcart is foil/holo silver.
     
  2. Dr.Aqua

    Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    Duh...
    It says upgrade doesnt it?
     
  3. Evo.lve

    Evo.lve All that you could be.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Country:
    Now now be fair, it is a noob you're talking to.

    also, YES it's a clone. Get a non-piece of shit cart.
     
  4. Sora de Eclaune

    Sora de Eclaune Target... Illumiati... All conected...
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,831
    Country:
    United States
    Don't be so harsh, guys. Some people don't understand flash carts.


    To be honest, any R4 cartridge that is called anything but "R4 Revolution for DS" is a clone. Most of these cartridges don't work with any of the new firmware, so you'll have to rely on the official firmware or YSmenu, but YSmenu doesn't work on all R4 clones and hasn't been updated in ages.

    In any case, you may want to buy a new flash cart. If you can, try to get a Supercard DS Two. If you want to go cheap, go for an Acekard 2i. As I didn't buy my flash cart (it came with the DS a friend gave me before he moved), I can't suggest any websites to use, so you'll be on your own on that front.
     
  5. Rugos

    OP Rugos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
  6. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    It's a clone, but you can try retrogamefan's updates of YSMenu with it, before buying a new card.
     
  7. Dr.Aqua

    Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    To be fair he posted a picture himself and his r4 didn't look like it.
     
  8. Fishaman P

    Fishaman P Speedrunner
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    United States
    An AK2i is an option, but I would recommend getting a legit R4. They come as cheap as $2 nowadays.
     
  9. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,233
    Country:
    United States
  10. Schizoanalysis

    Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,799
    Country:

    He answered his own question... He just didn't know it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - clone,