Is my PSP Hackable?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by BloodyFlame, Jan 11, 2011.

Jan 11, 2011

Is my PSP Hackable? by BloodyFlame at 4:35 AM (1,806 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my PSP since 2007. It's a 200X model, but I'm unsure about what motherboard it has. I don't remember what firmware it had out of the box. The box that the PSP came in was trashed. Maybe we can narrow it down?

    Facts:

    200X Model
    Running OFW 6.03

    Any help would be appreciated. I REALLY don't want to have to take apart my PSP to find out. Thanks.
     
  2. cojiro

    Member cojiro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    PSP is now all hackable due to the release of the private keys.
     
  3. jargus

    Member jargus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    United States
    2007 PSPs are hackable
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Update to 6.20, run the 6.20 HEN, then run PSP Ident. That will get you your hardware info.
     
  5. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently, I'm dyslexic(no offense to those who are) and I'm actually on 6.31. But I found the HEN for it and I got PS Ident to run. But the program shows a bunch of hexes. Is this normal?
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    With names like Kirk and Spock? Yeah, it's the names and IDs of the internal hardware on your PSP.

    It should have saved a .bmp in the root of your memory stick, show it to us.
     
  7. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I ran PSP Identify on 6.31 and it provided similar results. I don't know why. Rydian, do you know? [​IMG]
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    7.0 is the latest.
     
  9. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    There was no .bmp file in the root. While I was running the exploit, there was a screen that said, "MEMORY LEAK" and took me back to the main menu. But I was able to run homebrew once. While in PSP Ident, Kirk ad Spock were random characters.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's the info lower than that (the motherboard info) we need.
     
  11. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Under Kirk and Spock is:

    FuseID: 0x8900638
    FuseCFG: 0x890064C

    There's no other stuff.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What versions have you tried?
     
  13. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    For PS Ident, so far, I've only tried 7.0.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What does an earlier version say?
     
  15. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Gonna try PSP Ident 0.6.

    ALSO, when I run HEN and check the System Information, it shows up as 6.31 PRO. When I turn it off and on, it reverts back to 6.31. Is this normal?

    EDIT: It shows 4 of the nicknames for the chips in the PSP and nothing else. Then, my PSP turns off.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it losing the hack when you turn it off is normal, that's what a HEN is and how it works, it's temporary in memory.

    I wonder if other people have issues with 6.31... go up to 6.35 and try it (a downgrader for 6.35 will be released later, confirmed).
     
  17. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
  18. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Upgraded to 6.35 and . . . same thing. I got my psp for Christmas so maybe it's a new motherboard causing this? [​IMG]

    Well, at least everything else works spiffy. [​IMG] (phew)

    Edit: Gah! You're wasting your time, BloodyFlame! [​IMG]
     
  19. BloodyFlame
    OP

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Updating didn't work. I guess I just stick to Prometheus ISO Loader.
     

Share This Page