Is my DS lite Broken?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by DarkSpace, Aug 11, 2008.

Aug 11, 2008

Is my DS lite Broken? by DarkSpace at 6:15 PM (777 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. DarkSpace
    OP

    Member DarkSpace Custom member title

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I turn on the DS with the top closed,and than open the DS, sometimes the top screen won't show. I have to move the top part of the DS around to get it to show. Is this fixable? How can I fix it?

    Also you know how the DS has set positions, well if I move the ds past 135 degrees than the top will fall all the way down.

    Is the ribbon in the DS loose?
     
  2. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    you gotta open your DS Lite .

    For your first problem the topscreen's ribbon cable might be loose so you gotta open it and push it in more ?

    then for your second problem the hinge might be loose or is broken . you have to buy a replacement case to repair it .

    There is a guide at GBAtemp for both Replacing your case and picking a proper nice case .

    NDSL disassembly/reassembly Guide
    NDSL Replacement Cases

    Read those two guides and you should be alright .
     
  3. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By the sounds of it your hinge is broken, the ribbon cable should be fine, as long as the screen jumps between on and off (it doesn't turn on, but look all glitchy).

    It really depends what part of the hinge is broken, if it is the metal bit, then I'm not sure, as the replacement case I got only had the plastic parts in... If it is a plastic part then a replacement case would fix it.
     
  4. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Reply to your editing thing ....

    maybe the ribbon cable is loose ... but the only way to find out if opening it and seeing if it is or not . you can the necesary toolshere .

    Then you can use the disassembly guide i posted just recently ...so yea ...
     

Share This Page