Is my CycloDS Faulty?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by EliteKill, Apr 30, 2009.

Apr 30, 2009

Is my CycloDS Faulty? by EliteKill at 2:34 PM (892 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. EliteKill
    OP

    Member EliteKill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    I got myself a CycloDS a year ago, and lately my CycloDS started acting wierd. Some games won't load, some games freeze, for some I can't access the Enhanced Menu and some have bad slowdowns. Is it faulty or is it the firmware?

    PS: No, I didn't ddrop it and I'm using a Sandisk MicroSD 4 GB
    Edit/Delete Message
     
  2. Hardkaare

    Member Hardkaare GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Sàigòn VN _____ Status: Banned
    Country:
    Vietnam
    try to backup all your files then reformat copy it all back, and update the firmware?
     
  3. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. Backup the data and format your micro sd and update your firmware. If that doesn't worj try getting clean roms.
     
  4. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I replied on the cycloDS forums to you as well, but I figured I'd throw in a reply here too.

    It is actually very possible that your CycloDS evolution is faulty. Don't get me wrong, the cartridges are sturdy and built incredibly well, but it seems mine went kaput after 2 years of heavy usage.

    Still, it was the best $70 bucks I've ever spent.
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what version of the CycloDS you have, since a year ago is also the time they started making newer versions. But there is the possibility that your Cyclo is from the older batch, and a way to fix your problem is to tape a piece of paper over the sticker of the CycloDS. What this does is make the Cyclo fatter and thus the contacts touch the pins better, and this might solve your problem.

    Otherwise, it's most likely a problem with your MicroSD, as they are much more likely to become faulty from wear and tear than the Cyclo itself.
     

Share This Page