Hacking Is it possible to restore Sysnand with Emunand?

Chrushev

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2013
Messages
628
Trophies
0
XP
1,372
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Currently I have sysnand and emunand separated. I am doing stuff on emunand. Lets say a year from now I for whatever reason want to switch to using sysnand again. Can I restore my system with the emunand? That way all my progress on puzzles that ive made gets saved?
 

Shadowtrance

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
2,493
Trophies
0
Location
Hervey Bay, Queensland
XP
1,787
Country
No. This will brick your system.

Why do people keep spreading this bullshit?

You can indeed restore an emunand backup to sysnand WITHOUT it bricking, honestly don't know where people are getting the idea that it will brick your system. :glare:

I've done it MULTIPLE times both via the gateway downgrade/upgrade (restore) menu option and with a hardmod on my OLD 3ds, had no problems at all.

In fact that was the first thing i did when gateway released the option to do so with their menu. :P
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

illicit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
255
Country
United States
your system nand and emunand dumps should be a 1:1 match. so i dont see how this would brick your system unless you mess up somehow. i dumped my system nand and dumped my emunand with emunand tool and compared them. they were the same.
 

Shadowtrance

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
2,493
Trophies
0
Location
Hervey Bay, Queensland
XP
1,787
Country

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,226
well all i will say is i tried it out once for science and it did brick, hundshamer tested it and it bricked,i know it *used* to be fine with pre-7.x, but anything over that seems to cause a brick.....maybe it differs from console to console or something like that, but its not just "safe" and should not be done unless you have a hardmod and your prepared for a brick
 

cvskid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
2,778
Trophies
1
XP
2,820
Country
United States
Isn't it safer just to boot into emunand from sysnand though instead of trying this? Just curious because i did not know this was possible.
 

Nephiel

Artificer
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
169
Trophies
0
XP
381
Country
What I'd do is make backups of both NANDs before unlinking them:

1) Format sysNAND and set it up (username, date, etc)
2) Back up sysNAND and keep a copy safe (e.g. as sysNAND-8.0.0-linked.bin)
3) Create emuNAND using GW menu
4) Back up emuNAND and keep a copy safe (e.g. as emuNAND-8.0.0-linked.bin)
5) With the SD card out of the console, format sysNAND again to unlink it from emuNAND. Set it up again with different dummy settings, language, theme... to be able to tell it apart from your emuNAND.
6) Back up sysNAND just in case (e.g. as sysNAND-8.0.0-unlinked.bin).
7) Put SD card back in and update emuNAND to 9.2 using a ROM (9.6 doesn't work yet as of this writing, I got lucky and updated to 9.5 just in time)
8) Back up emuNAND again and keep a copy safe (e.g. as emuNAND-9.2.0-linked.bin)
9) Have fun in emuNAND. Make backups regularly. Don't use the dummy sysNAND for anything you care about.

This way, you keep backups of stock versions of both sysNAND and emuNAND, and backups of an up-to-date emuNAND, all of them linked. Plus a clean, dummy, unlinked sysNAND.

If for whatever reason in the future you want to move from emuNAND to sysNAND, simply flash back your sysNAND backup and update it. There should be no risk of brick, because you're using your own sysNAND dump. And the sysNAND backup would still be linked to your emuNAND, so it should have access to everything the emuNAND had on the SD card (except the non-legit stuff that wouldn't work on sysNAND). Edit: if you install any legit CIA, you should make a newer backup of whatever *NAND you install it to, because previous backups won't have the required ticket to validate that CIA as legit.

However, once you update sysNAND, downgrading it again would require a hard mod.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'd rather wait for a kit to become a available
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm happily more confident to do it myself without a kit.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    And If you get a part that might be defective you'd need to wait longer and spend more
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Unless there are additions that need to be done.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1,
    You're right.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Why it's better to buy directly from reputable sources
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Yes, and not from some shitty Chinese store.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    They are many repetable component stores to name such as RS Components.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    But then there's added tax to the mix.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Makes them more expensive. :(
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Rumors going around about USB4
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It has been discussed for quite a long time now.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's about time for the upgrade
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm fine with everything USB wise.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    USB is fine, but shouldn't it be replaced with bulky, hard to use cables and all sorts of proprietary male-female connector port shapes?
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's so frustrating to have one simple cable that you can plug in upside down for everything!!!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    USB4 can do up to 40gbps I'd welcome it
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    From a Linus video it's essentially just a type c with an advanced chip
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    40Gbps is just going to result in even more more lazy developers writing sub-optimal, lazy code.
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    How? That transfer speed is insane
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That's like saying fast transfers is going to be the downfall of gaming
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Then when devs that actually do take their time makes people cry over them taking their time and having to wait even longer
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Very astute observations, but you failed to take into account people like me who prefer devs to take their time despite longer waits and really, really dislike the suboptimal approaches many studios are taking with game development in this day and age. Catering to the customers with impatient impulses for instant-gratification is a super-profitable business strategy in the short term, sure, but it is an untenable business strategy in the longer term simply because you cannot guarantee you can produce a quality game in that timespan repeatedly. Therefore, you will have to abuse your workforce or partake in other inethical practices in order to compete in the marketplace and remain profitable.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Not really a fail the general public just doesn't know how to wait I don't see what faster transfer speeds have to do with that
    +1
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Not really a fail the general public just doesn't know how to wait I don't see what faster... +1