Is it okay for you to use someone else's nand dump in your own wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by limesherbert, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. limesherbert
    OP

    Member limesherbert GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    just wondering really...i asked in noob paradise but no one seemed to notice :/


    well, thanks
     
  2. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I read somewhere on another thread on this forum and another forum that each wii has certain bad blocks, so if you use a nand dump off another wii it could write to that bad block and cause issues (brick) maybe, I am sure there are other reasons too why its a bad idea to use someones nand dump
     
  3. Davidson

    Newcomer Davidson Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    you need a dump with your own keys, theres a program that lets you change the keys but I forgot what it's called, I'll look for it.
     
  4. steves334

    Newcomer steves334 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    my wii has no bad blocks
     
  5. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    fyi, not recommended to use betwiin unless your wii is beyond repair... its still not perfect (I think it doesn't compensate for bad blocks in critical places)
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You cannot change the keys. Or at least, not on your own Wii. You can use a tool to change one dump to be compatible with the other wii however there can be no bad blocks in a place where the other Wii (your donor-Wii) doesn't have them.
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    i think there is another restriction/requirement, your boot1 with the other wii must be the same... or boot2 version... i dont remember, but it should be in the readme, just research before actually using it
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
     
  10. Davidson

    Newcomer Davidson Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States

    That's what I meant, and I was talking about Betwiin
     

Share This Page